We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at Finlay Banks during our brief visit to Christchurch in October 2013. Finlay Banks is a well run, extremely clean and comfortable B&B and hosts Lindsay & Fay are real gems! Our room was tastefully decorately and thoughtfully appointed. The bed is wonderfully comfortable and fitted with quality linen. Everything was meticulously clean and the hosts are attentive without being obtrusive. Breakfast was delicious and we especially enjoyed the homemade muesli. Zac the resident dog was well-behaved and one of those non-shedding breeds so unlikely to be an issue for any allergy sufferers. We really enjoyed our stay and the company of our hosts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that your experience and stay with us was more than you expected. To ensure our guests have a quality stay, we like to take care of all the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
104
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

When my husband and I decided to travel to New Zealand to take the Tranzalpine we wanted to stay at Finlay Banks B&B partly to say thank you for the hospitality and help they gave our daughter when she was caught in Christchurch during the winter snowstorm of 2011. As it turned out 5 friends decided to join us on this trip and luckily Finlay Banks had just enough space. Fay and Lindsay were the ultimate hosts as they welcomed us into their home, talking with us, sharing their experiences and giving us lots of information about what we could do in Christchurch. The rooms were beautiful and so clean and Fay's food was fantastic...so much variety at breakfast. Lindsay transported us all to and from the airport as well as the train station. He even drove us into the city and gave us directions on where to walk around. They both really couldn't do enough for us and made our stay really enjoyable. They even got breakfast ready for us at 3 .30am before our early flight home. A real 10/10 perfect experience. Thank you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mddrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Coming to stay with us following a recommendation is for us a great compliment. We endeavour to make every guests stay memorable, personal and we are pleased that you all enjoyed your short time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Finlay Banks B&B for four nights. We could not fault the hospitality, cleanliness, comfort of the beds and room, meals etc. We had four nights of home cooked meals which were delicious, as were the breakfasts. Fay & Lindsay are great hosts and made us feel very welcome and relaxed. We will certainly be staying again when next in Christchurch. Love Zac the dog!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bendoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for the positive review. You have stated everything we try to give to the guests when staying with us. All the comforts of home. We look forward to welcoming you both back into our home when we can learn more about antique pottery and collectables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

It was the first day at NZ, and what a great beggining! Really clean, confortable, well located, and great suite with really good bathroom and so lovely room. Amazing breakfast and the hosts are sooo nice and helpful!
A really good way to beggin a great adventure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_RN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
We are very aware of the importance to provide a great first impression of our home and New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing for our guests a quality, clean and comfortable bed & breakfast experience.
Our central location is ideal for exploring the city, with shops, restaurants, theatres close by.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our home, and had a great trip around New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed with Faye and Lindsay for two nights early May. This was our first experience at a B & B and we loved it. Everything was so clean and comfortable. Faye cooked us a special, delicious vegetarian meal and nothing was too much trouble for them both. We felt like pampered family guests. We were collected at the airport late at night and taken into Christchurch the next morning after a delicious breakfast. Lindsay was extremely helpful in the planning of our road trip around the South Island. We just love NZ! Thank you so much for your help and hospitality. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We are pleased to have introduced you both to a quality bed & breakfast experience. We pride ourselves on making our guests stay as personal as we can. The opportunity to dine with our guests is a highlight for us as well as our guests. Fay enjoys any opportunities to extend her culinary skills. We look forward to a return visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Fay and Lindsay were so friendly and as I requested dinner upon the evening of my arrival I got to visit a bit with them both- I felt privileged to share their time. The food was fabulous and beakfast was really memorable with fresh juice aned homemade granola- fruit , cheese and yogurt and everything yummy you could dream of in the morning,.
The room was lovely and cozy- (I wa so happy to be warm) and the bathroom very luxurious.
I loved the location which was very private and I could walk to the nearest mall and nice restaurants in minutes and felt safe.
I also fell in love with their sweet demure little bijon frisee dog Zach!-Nothing was missing from this perfect stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
It is always our aim to provide a quality experience for our guests. Our homemade breakfasts are a great way to start the day. Thank you for your review, we are humbled by your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We spent the first and last nights of our honeymoon at Finlay Banks and enjoyed our stay very much! Fay and Lindsay (and their doggy Zac) were great hosts, and we especially appreciated Lindsay driving us to Christchurch's city centre to show us the aftermath of the quake. The couple also shared their family photos with us and made the experience truly personal. Now that's all above a beautiful home, clean rooms and a sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aarongrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We are glad you both enjoyed our personal style of hosting. We endeavour to make our guests stay as memorable as we can. Thank you for your kind words. we look forward to your return visit to explore more of our wonderful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
5.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 130 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 130 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing