We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 133 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh and relaxing”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The Finlays are incredibly good hosts and that in itself is important but honestly, you could eat off the floors - everything about the house is SO micro-clean! Throw in a pleasantly decorated room, good off-street parking, and an excellent continental breakfast served in a pleasant morning room and Bob's your uncle. It's set on a pretty road that winds around a little river and walking distance to the convenient but rather bleak Palms shopping centre. Finlay Banks was an excellent accommodation experience in Christchurch and we would commend it to even the pickiest of travellers.

Room Tip: We had the downstairs room. It's big enough for two luggage stands (great), a couple of easy cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thanks Berry J for your comment. We do pride ourselves on keeping a clean and tidy home. We hope the golfing went well at Millbrook. We look forward to a return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
106
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Sorry for writing this review late. We stayed for the first 2 nights in end Nov for our 12 nights trip to south island of New Zealand. The room is very cosy and comfortable, everything in the house is so neat and clean. I will definitely recommend my friends when they go christchurch next year. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeWah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we were pleased you chose to stay with us. We hope you enjoyed the rest of New Zealand as much as you did Christchurch. This is a great country to visit with spectacular scenery and warm and friendly people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After a long journey from Germany we spent one night at Finley Banks - and it was brilliant - a home far away from home. Not only the accommodation itself was perfect; the cleanliness, the breakfast ... everything. Not to forget the kindness, hospitality, graciousness and helpfulness was 5-Star! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drok2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us. One night is never enough to take in the sights of Christchurch. We just get to know you and you are gone. Thanks for the kind words and rating for our B&B. We are always trying to make it the best that we can and it seems that we have for you. We wish you good health and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We spent three nights at Findlay Banks at the beginning of a holiday in New Zealand and can only agree with all of the other positive review comments. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, Breakfast and in particular, the muesli, is excellent. Fay and Lindsay are great ambassadors for Christchurch and New Zealand. They want you to enjoy their city and will go out of their way to ensure you do.

Christchurch does still bear the scars of the earthquakes, but it is very much worth visiting and a stay at Findlay Banks will put you in a good location to see the city. Frequent and reliable bus services run past the end of the street and Lindsay's suggestions of where to go and how to get there are definitely worth listening to. There is a small shopping mall (The Palms) within 5 minutes walk which has three restaurants.

As others have said they go out of their way to be helpful, our booking was transferred at short notice, but Fay had taken the trouble to buy in some rice milk and also found some lactose free bread, as one of us is dairy intolerant. She even made some special muffins for the morning of our wedding anniversary.

The best B&B we have ever stayed in, nothing was too much trouble and a great start to our holiday. Next time we visit Christchurch, Fay and Lindsay will be the first people we call.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdg_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thanks for the kind words. Three night stays is a good length of time to be able to see Christchurch and the surrounding areas. As you said our location is certainly close to all amenities and transport which makes a holiday easier to plan. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We spent two nights at Finlay Banks after our tour of the South Island by camer van, and it was just what we needed - just like visiting friends. I've never stayed in a B&B where you are invited to make your own drinks in the kitchen whenever you wish! Fay and Lindsay were really welcoming, even though we just dropped our cases off on the way to return the camper van, and Zac the dog was equaly welcoming. When we got back to Finlay Banks, we shared cups of tea in the garden whilst chatting about where we'd been and what we were doing next, and were given several useful tips for our trip round the North Island, as well as suggestions for what to do next day as we had a spare day. The breakfast choices were all delicious - it was difficult to decide what to have! When we returned from our day out we again chatted over cups of tea - and our request to phone to book a taxi for the airport next day was met with the offer of a lift by Fay, who duly dropped us at the airport with plenty of time to spare. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for the kind words. What more can we say, you have captured what we want our B&B to be. It looks like we have got it right from what you both have said. We enjoyed your company and short stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

After a long journey from UK we were picked up at the airport by our lovely hostess Fay. It was so kind of her to collect us, and her husband dropped us off to collect our campervan the following morning.
Their kindness and hospitality was first class.
Our room was spotlessly clean, and the comfy bed and cozy dressing gowns were so much appreciated.
Our hosts chatted with us over a wonderful breakfast banquet. Nothing was too much trouble and we wished that we could have spent longer at Finlay Banks.
It is the nicest B&B we have ever stayed at.
Thank you for such a wonderful start to our holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind and supportive review of your stay with us. Sharing our home and meeting wonderful people such as yourselves is the reason why we enjoy operating a B&B. We look forward to the opportunity of a return visit sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dilbeek, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2013

one word: recommendable!
be our last B & B after 25 days New Zealand: last but not least
remain them certainly to remember
continue to sure to thank them
Breakfast is a star hotel dignified
their home is your home

Room Tip: Friendly obliging folks
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvcavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We only just got to know you and you were gone, your stay was too short. Next time make it a couple of nights to enjoy our hospitality and city. Thanks for the review, we are sure it will help other travellers decide to stay with us. Until we meet again safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 133 in Christchurch
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 133 in Christchurch
648 reviews
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 133 in Christchurch
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 133 in Christchurch
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing