We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A comfortable, friendly, relaxing place to stay at the start of our New Zealand adventure. Finlay Banks set the standard for the rest of our accommodations during our tour. They could not do enough for you. It is a beautiful house, a comfortable room and an excellent breakfast. To top it all you are given free airport and train station transfers.
I would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_St_Helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Peter , A warm welcome and a comfortable bed is what every guest walking through our door deserves and can expect. We don't charge any extra for the smile. Our breakfasts are a time to savour while enjoying our home made products and the company & conversation with other guests and where possible ourselves.Thank you for your review and confirmation that in your opinion we have set the standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Home away from home! Excellent hospitality and superb accommodations. Our two nights at your home were memorable. The shuttles to the airport went beyond the call of duty, especially getting up at 4:30am with a breakfast 'to go' ready in hand. We really appreciated your personal touches..freshly baked muffins, wine and cheese, local tours. We highly recommend your B&B to all travelling in Christchurch.
Mark and Kathy Toronto, Ontario

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyKL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Kathy & Mark, it was our pleasure to welcome Team Canada into our home, you take the gold medal. B&B for us is about providing a total experience, and treating our guests as we would like to be treated. If it is at all possible to add extra value for our guests, we will always attempt to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We just wanted to crash for a night. We found out about this place @ the airport. Mr.Fay came in personally to pick us up & also drop us at the airport. Though its little bit far from the airport its worth the travel. Our room gave us a very homely feel. We were very tired so we went off to sleep as soon as we reached. In the morning we had to rush to the airport and when we stepped out of our room there was this sweet lady who offered us breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amitnsanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have stayed at Finlay Bank twice and would highly recommend this B&B. The accommodations are very comfortable and nicely appointed. The breakfast is absolutely delicious, including homemade preserves and baked goods. What makes this B&B stand out from all the others are the hosts. Faye and Lindsay are warm, welcoming and accommodating. They are proud, knowledgable residents of Christchurch, and as such were able to ensure we experienced all that Christchurch had to offer. We highly recommend Finlay Banks for a great experience and to get the most out of Christchurch. Cheers, Natalia and Michael.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Once again thank you. You were great people to have staying in our home. It felt like you were friends coming for a few days rather than first time guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. we look forward to catching up when we visit your country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had a very good stay at this very good place. Everything was well prepared and the quality in all means was excellent,Also the support and helpfulness of the hosts was outstanding.
Really an excellent place to go to , when in Christchurch area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Courtmanght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for the review. We do our best to make guests stay as though they were at home. With so much happening in Christchurch post the earthquake it is good to help our guests get the most up to date information on sights to see and roads to travel on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you are looking for lovely decor, immaculate accommodations, wonderful food, including homemade bread, and great hospitality, then choose Finlay Banks for your stay in Christchurch. We spent 4 nights in all with Fay and Lindsay - 2 nights upon arrival on the South Island and 2 nights just before departure. Fay and Lindsay go above and beyond the basics to help make your stay comfortable and interesting. Rides to and from the airport, wine and cheese after a long day's tour to Akaroa, travel suggestions and delightful conversation on a personal level made us feel as if we had just dropped in to visit old friends and yet this B and B is very professionally run. Add an artfully designed garden and Zach the dog and you have the perfect recipe for one of the best B and B stays you will experience

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

What can we say in reply. THANK YOU. You have covered all that we want to provide for our guests. For us it is about ensuring each of our guests have a unique home away from home experience.
We aim to provide a high level of comfort and relaxation for all our guests to enjoy. Keep your spare room free as we will definitely be travelling to your country to enjoy your hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Finlay Banks at the end of a 6 week trip across both islands. A fantastic experience, right untill the end.
When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Fay and her little dog. After showing us our room, and getting our luggage, we were kindly invited for some drinks in the garden. Although we were only staying for one night, we got great advice for a short visit to Christchurch and about the Buskers festival in town.
The room we got was great, having everything you need for a comfortable night.
Next morning, after a delicious breakfast, we went back to town, so Lindsay proposed to pick us up afterwards in the City centre, to drive us to the airport. Another example of Fay and Lindsays hospitality and the effort they put into helping you enjoy "their" city.
We really had a very nice stay, and would recommend this to anyone visiting Christchurch!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

It was a pleasure to welcome you both into our home. You were great guests and we enjoyed the opportunity to talk with you and learn about you and your home country. We as hosts love to share local information on whats happening so guests can see and do as much as possible during their stay. Courtesy transfers (were possible) are a small part in offering a complete B&B experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
284 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#8 of 141 in Christchurch
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 141 in Christchurch
656 reviews
3.1 mi away
Belmont on Harewood
Belmont on Harewood
#4 of 141 in Christchurch
209 reviews
5.7 mi away
St James Bed & Breakfast
St James Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 141 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: £85 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing