We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good holiday park near the airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North South Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nice holiday park situated close to the airport, for a good price. We had a small 2 person cabin which was clean, near the bathrooms, and had a kettle and fridge etc. We arrived late and our key was left out for us, and friendly owners dropped us to our car rental company in the morning. Taxi fare from airport was $30.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for North South Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2012

My partner and I have stayed here a few times on our round the world trips and is the best closest stay from Christchurch airport. Only 5 minutes away by car. If camping like we were, we wanted a good nights sleep after long flights and being awake for 27 hours. We stayed in a delux standard cabin for 2 nights which was perfect. A comfortable double bed, flat screen tv, small wall heater, a kettle, cutlery, mugs and plates. They have their own kitchen, shower & toilet block with laundry facilities which was great for washing all our dusty clothes and to hang them on the line too...There were no pegs though, so when we went back later to collect them, the wind had blown them off the line. There is also a nice swimming pool to have a cool dip in. The staff are really friendly too, They have a small box in reception of free items that other travellers have left for you to take if you need them...like matches, tape, noodles, we left a quilt that we bought in California that was needed! We have also stayed in the standard cabin, exactly the same but without the TV and kettle etc. We looked at the backpacker cabins which they have only just built and is ideal for one person...just a bed and small table. All in all definitely a good stay when arriving in Christchurch.

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same...best to book though
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I don't really like giving bad reviews, but we seriously drew the short straw with our recent stay at North South. This was my second stay and my husband's third, so whilst we weren't expecting 5-star, we were very disappointed with what we got.

Cabin 9 was horrible. It barely fitted the double bed in it, the bed was really soft and uncomfortable - worn out, but the worst thing ever was that the linen we had requested was not clean! There were hairs in our sheets!

Most horrible experience. For $70 this is not a bargain. Spend the extra $20 and stay in a motel.

Prior to experiencing cabin 9, we were okay with the noise (family campground) and 6 minute showers, but uncomfortable bed with dirty linen is not acceptable at any price.

We won't be back.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 and 2 are okay - from previous stays. Seriously, just book a cheap motel. Much better valu...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZTiberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Razzer5, Owner at North South Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

I was very concerned to get this review as we do strive to provide a good experience for our many visitors. We are still in an upgrade phase but unfortunately we have not completed all we wished to do before Xmas. I completely agree with you that there is no excuse for uncleanliness and to that end have reminded all staff (not just housekeeping) that this facet of our business is the most important and for this poor service I apologise. As you can see from other comments this is not a regular occurence. I would have liked you to have brought this matterto the attention of management at the time however you obviously chose not to. Yes we do have to control your shower times in consideration to our many other guests. I make no apology for our covered in walkway leading from these cabins to our ablution blocks, again as a service to our guests. I am aware that you stayed on other occasions and were generally satisfied, albeit in a different type of cabin. We are sorry to see you take this stance and once again can only apologise for the slipup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This was our first night in NZ. We didn't have any problems with organizing details of our late night check-in. We slept in the cabin. Interior was very modest, a little bit old-fashioned, but with a huge kitchen equipment. This holiday park is located almost in the suburbs, you have to have a car. The advantage is proximity to the car rental offices and to the airport, but other way the planes make some noise from early morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monia-Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Great location handy to north and south travel routes. A nice tidy cabin with space for the whole family. Friendly service and getting extra bedding was no problem. Plenty of outside areas for the kids to explore.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogg1es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Standard cabin:
Fairly small in size but functional with TV and T&C facilities in the cabin.
Kitchens clean but no pots, pans or utensils for visitor use.

Short drive into Christchurch from the site, not sure on public transport available.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Close to the airport for anyone looking for an early flight. Close to most of the motorhome rental companies too. Bathrooms are older but clean. Timed showers at 6 minutes. Lots of water across the bathroom floor from the showers which was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ozfamily2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.8 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 105 in Christchurch
574 reviews
4.7 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park
1.7 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 105 in Christchurch
205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 146 in Christchurch
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North South Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North South Holiday Park

Address: 530 Sawyers Arms Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £28 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North South Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North South Holiday Park is the closest Holiday Park to Christchurch International Airport being just a 5 minute drive away. We are also close to all major rental car and campervan depots. We provide a wide range of accommodation options. Make use of our airport shuttle service operating during office house $5 per adult $2.50 per child. We are a pet friendly park however we require to be prearranged with management, unfortunately not inside our accommodation units. FREE WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your North South Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing