We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, rooms in good condition.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North South Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North South Holiday Park
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Value for money, rooms in good condition.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

At $130NZD a night for a two bedroom 'cabin' with a lounge room, bathroom and kitchen all with modern facilities and in good condition made this place very good value.

The grounds around the cabins are quite rough and the place truly feels like a caravan park, however inside the cabin the facilities are very good.

Very close to the airport and the staff were very helpful and friendly; I would stay here again.

Not ideal for a traveller who is looking for luxury but ideal for a family, group or people in airport transit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blake T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    81
    56
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
82
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Camp site a little bit too close to the road, which is audible. Clean showers. However, the kitchen is FAR too small for the number of guests, everybody was bumping into each other every second, the table is very small and put in such place that only one side can be really used. Very crowded. And the camp sites were in my opinion too close to the road. Location is good if you have an early flight. Do not be fooled by close proximity to the airport on Google maps. Take a taxi, it is really cheap. If you try to walk, you may have unpleasant surprises.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Maria_Estera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We arrived in Christchurch late morning to find accommodations for the night before catching flights next am. Checked out Lonely Planet recommendations near the airport-- all booked. There were No Vacancy signs everywhere we passed. Stopped & asked at 5 different locations with no luck (& little interest in offering suggestions.) Drove to the airport to check with the Information desk there. Said they could book us one room at a campground, but the other couple would have to drive at least 30 minutes away to find something. Not convenient for 4:30AM flight & all sharing a van! Finally wheedled in out of them what campground the were talking about.
Found the Holiday Park & were amazed at all the options from tent camping to our stand alone building with 2 bedrooms, sitting room, kitchen & bath. The grounds were nicely landscaped with flowers, trees, shrubbery. Friendly owner, Jane, went out of her way to be helpful-- extra pillows, fruit & milk...even dropped us off at the airport next day.
More people need to know about this place. Good for backpackers on a budget or those happier will full convenience.

Room Tip: tons of options-- just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We have stayed here multiple times, the latest being in early March, 2013. We like to be here on our last night in Christchurch because they are willing to take us to the airport. They also provide a free pick-up service if you are flying into Christchurch. Since we are normally traveling by bicycle, this makes a great place to begin or end our trip on the South Island.
The holiday park is not the fanciest, but it has all the necessary conveniences, including communal kitchen and communal toilets and showers for those staying in standard cabins or camping. This time we booked an 'ensuite' cabin, which turned out to be a little house with living/dining room, a bedroom and a bathroom with shower. It is nice to have the refrigerator and the equipment to make toast and tea, even if you decide to go out for dinner. The bed was comfortable. The cost was similar to other 'ensuite' units in Christchurch.
The highway is closeby, but we didn't find our room noisy.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

This is a nice clean site for those with campervans. The facilities are clean and quite modern. There is a really lovely pool and a sauna.

It is one of a chain, we would normally stay in Top 10 sites and this compares well.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

we booked a "Backpacker double room" it had a TV and a Fridge. comfy bed which could have included line hire if we wanted. Camp facilities were close, clean & tidy. good showers. quiet location. Pub across the road for bar meals was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K1ngsGld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

you have to get to the airport in a hurry when you wake. Otherwise, you might try camping in a highway median because the traffic noise is about the same (and there honestly is hardly any traffic in Christchurch). Be sure to bring a clothspin, you will need to cover your nose while using the bathrooms as they stink even after the cleaning crew is finished. And you might want to bring along a dumpster as well to pick up all the extra trash lying around. In general the whole place is just crap, especially considering what you pay for the very hard ground.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank laetulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
2.0 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.8 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park
4.7 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
5.4 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North South Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North South Holiday Park

Property: North South Holiday Park
Address: 530 Sawyers Arms Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — North South Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our park is close to rental/car and campervan depots. We provide a range of accommodation options. Make use of our courtesy van which drops off and picks up from the airport twice a day. We do accept pets to stay with us after arranging with management, unfortunately not inside our accommodation units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your North South Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing