We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hostel, very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haka Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haka Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hostel, very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Amazing hostel, fantastic staff and very clean. We had a lovely double room with a shared bathroom. Clean, comfortable bed, small but well equipped kitchen, nice gardens and lovely communal area. All the staff were helpful and nothing was too much trouble. had a book swap as well which is always a bonus. Offered lots of trips. It is a way from the city but we didn't find it a problem at all as you can walk it in half hour or catch a bus. I would definitely reccommed staying here. it's been a real highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northernpixie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    47
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
52
59
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Awesome!!! Better than other backpacker lodges. Awesome!!!. Family so enjoyed themselves. Rooms were lovely and the dorm room. I would love to own such a lodge for our own families to have yearly trips up north. Again !!Awesome!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Regan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

This is a unique backpacker accomodation in Christchurch. I truely enjoy our stay in Haka Lodge and we think this is the best backpacker accomodation we encountered during our 20 days stay in New Zealand. The rooms are clean and tidy. The garden is well maintained and I think the staff / owner are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mui_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The word ‘lodge’ describes this place well. It is an A frame building with a cozy living room including a wood stove to keep the space warm. We stayed in a double room that was neither small nor spacious, but fit our needs well, including a comfortable and warm bed, a wall-mounted heater, closet to hide away our backpacks, and a TV. At first we were hesitant to make a reservation at Haka Lodge because of its location, which is a good 10 minute drive to the Christchurch city center, but we quickly realized that the city center is not where you want to be these days (unfortunately because of the damage caused by the earthquakes). Haka Lodge sits at the end of a cul-de-sac in a residential neighborhood, making it a quiet getaway rather than a party hostel. There is a grocery store and a few restaurants within walking distance, and it has good access to the highways if you are making a day trip to Banks Peninsula (highly recommended!) or are simply coming to/from Christchurch by car. There may be cheaper places to stay in Christchurch, but Haka Lodge has to be one of the best bets in terms of value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamborres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

The hostel was great for my friend and I. We drove so had no problems finding. It may look small but the rooms are actually one of the bigger double rooms we stayed at in New Zealand. Staff was really really nice and there were DVD players in our rooms as well. Really worth the money paid to stay here. Would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a small and homey one right outside Christchurch CBD. Everything you could possible need is available and the staff was incredible happy to help. The kitchen is small, but then there aren't that many people that can stay there at the same time so it was never a problem for us. Everything is clean and the bathrooms was big and felt newly renovated, even the showers was good! You get free wifi vouchers on your arrival which was very appreciated. They do have a cat, which is worth noting if you are allergic, but she was very shy and didn't bother us. Also, the dorms are not really dorms since there is walls (but no doors) between every two beds, and no bunk beds, which gives you bit privacy. They had big lockers for your stuff which made it no problem to leave your valuables.

The location is the only thing that could have been better. It takes approx 10 minutes with a bus from Chch CBD, which was a pain when we were going on an early all day tour from town. But if you have your own car this might even be an advantage. And there's a busstop right outside the entrance anyway so really it wasn't a big deal.

All in all I REALLY liked this hostel and would recommend it for anyone who are going to Chch!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Haka Lodge was a real pleasure to stay in. I'm actually going back there in a few days. As other reviewers have said it's like staying over at a mate's rather than being in a hostel. Hands down the most comfortable I've felt in any hostel in NZ. And the showers are lush. Power shower jobs. It was lovely to feel clean after some hit and miss hostels.

The only downsides for me were the distance from the town centre (I had to get two buses after I was dropped off by my intercity coach) and the fact that you had to pay for wifi. It wasn't unlimited as some people have said. Some face booking and a couple of YouTube videos and I was over my limit having paid 10 dollars for a day!

Everything else was great and if they improved on the wifi it would be perfect. Best choice if you've got a car or if you're not too bothered about going into town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisbatteredsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.6 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#30 of 148 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.2 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#16 of 111 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.1 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge

Property: Haka Lodge
Address: 518 Linwood Avenue, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Haka Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is located in a suburban neighbourhood in Christchurch; we have great eateries, supermarkets within walking distance and handy public buses to the central city, amazing beaches and the airport. We offer a range of accommodation options from dorm beds, double rooms and twin room as well as our two bed roomed self contained apartment. Haka Lodge Christchurch lets you relax in what we like to call “home style luxury”! Unwind in our comfortable lounges, whip up a storm in the kitchen, refresh yourself in our bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and towels, use free unlimited WiFi to say hi to friends and family and relax in our gorgeous eco-friendly garden filled with native plants and herbs and vegetables in the summer months. We have plenty of on-street car parking in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Haka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing