We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Nice place, quite comfortable rooms. Unfortunatelly there is no AC, so during hot days can be tough. Not to close to the center of the city, but with convenient bus connections. Great staff! Always really helpful! One problem - too small number of toilets and extremely noisy doors! Reasonable price for the stay, so I recommend Haka Lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrSushi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Manager at Haka Lodge Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Kia Ora, Thank you for leaving us a review  Great to read that you found our lodge nice and our rooms comfortable. We do not have air conditioning in the rooms however there are large windows in the rooms to let in fresh air. As a fire regulation we are required to have fire doors on all rooms and they are slightly heavier than normal doors.
We are located in a suburban neighbourhood and have regular public buses that stop in front of our lodge that take you direct to the central city in 10-15mins.
Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Haka Lodge Christchurch Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Haka Lodge Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed here for one night while visiting the city (I had a car). It was easy to find, despite being out of the city center and the location was quiet. I stayed in the 7-bed dorm, and loved that it was divided into 3 sections so it felt like a 3-bed dorm. Lots of storage and clean, cozy facilities. Friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan S, Manager at Haka Lodge Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Kia Ora, Thank you for leaving us a review. We are glad to read you found the lodge quiet and enjoyed our awesome dorm room, the extra storage is very useful. Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Warm regards, Haka Lodge Christchurch Team :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night after getting a flight which got in at 2 am. It is quite some distance from the airport but that was fine for us as we had a hire car, if you don't it probably would have cost a bomb in a cab. We stayed in a private room and it was very clean and comfortable. They were also very helpful in organising a late check in and left very clear instructions on what to do.

Nice people and nice place, would not have minded staying a bit longer than 7 hours!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sycoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

It's a bit of a hike by bus or shuttle to get to the Lodge, but the hostel itself is great. The way it's designed, out of a house, makes it a little narrow in the hallways, but the bathrooms are nice and are individual rooms. The beds are also quite comfortable and fully laid out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The first days in New Zealand I stayed in the Haka Lodge. It was very nice and clean in the lodge - not as massive as the big hostels. 3 nights to relax before the great New Zealandcruise began. Easy reachable by bus - nice to go from there to Brighton, Summern and Litteltown. Dorm in 3 rooms with 7 normal Beds - no climbing up. Fresh herbes from the garden made the cooking in the new kitchen nice. There were very nice private rooms as well. Cool massive table for eating and a big TV room.
Sabine, Germany

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The lodge is very easy to drive to from the airport, a blessing with a midnight flight. Ample parking in the street. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment. Make sure you confirm numbers before you arrive, we needed the sofa lounge and didn't have any linen for the first night. Clean, tidy, well equipped - it is a backpackers, so not luxurious. It is difficult to find something suitable with one adult travelling with three teenagers. It was suited our purposes well. Kids loved the big tv.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Everything about this cozy little place is perfect. Staff is awesome and the double rooms are just like a little bed and breakfast.

Price wise it's actually not that bad. Everything is worth while. Happy to recommend

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 105 in Christchurch
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 105 in Christchurch
201 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 105 in Christchurch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#14 of 105 in Christchurch
115 reviews
3.2 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 105 in Christchurch
385 reviews
8.0 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 105 in Christchurch
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge Christchurch

Address: 518 Linwood Avenue, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: £24 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Haka Lodge Christchurch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is located in a suburban neighbourhood in Christchurch; we have great eateries, supermarkets within walking distance and handy public buses to the central city, amazing beaches and the airport. We offer a range of accommodation options from dorm beds, double rooms and twin room as well as our two bed roomed self contained apartment. Haka Lodge Christchurch lets you relax in what we like to call “home style luxury”! Unwind in our comfortable lounges, whip up a storm in the kitchen, refresh yourself in our bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and towels, use free unlimited WiFi to say hi to friends and family and relax in our gorgeous eco-friendly garden filled with native plants and herbs and vegetables in the summer months. We have plenty of on-street car parking in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haka Lodge Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing