We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit too small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Palms Motel
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bit too small”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The location is close to airport. But the room was too small with a small bathroom. The carpets and towels are all very dark color and a bit depressing. The managers are nice. The airport shuttle is a bit deceptive as it only works during the day.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D, Public Relations Manager at Airport Palms Motel, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Airport Palms Motel.
We regret that you found the unit on the small side and felt carpet and towel colours were dark.
We hope the very light colours in the walls compensated for this plus experiencing the friendliness of the Managers Pat and Bill.
The free Shuttle service to the Airport runs from 7am until 8pm daily and is advertised in the website where prospective guests are made aware of the hours of service prior to booking.
We do hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    171
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
163
343
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Immaculate modern accommodation with excellent facilities located close to the airport.Bill and Pat were very welcoming and helpful. In addition the free shuttle to the airport was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D, Public Relations Manager at Airport Palms Motel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Pat and Bill very helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The location of the Motel was only 5 minutes from the Airport and a free courtesy shuttle was available. The rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the kitchen well equipped for all possible needs. Bill was kind enough to help us out with the TV when we had issues finding SKY channels. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I arrived very late (2 a.m.) and the hotel had perfectly arranged to leave the key in a drop box. When we entered the apartment, it was beautifully set up and wonderful after a long flight. Bed was very comfortable. The next day one of the owners gave us a lift to our car rental place and was extremely friendly and helpful with directions, etc. We chose this hotel because it was cheaper than other airport hotels but still close enough to the airport. Of particular note was how clean it was especially as I had stayed at other airport hotels which were quite tacky. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We needed a hotel close to the Christchurch airport for an early morning flight Airport Palms met our needs. Spotlessly clean well equipped comfortable room, easy parking and access. Drop box provided for early checkout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent check in service. Room was very clean and small kitchenette was useful. Comfortable bed. Motel provides shuttle to airport or will sort out taxi for very early departures. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanT51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We had an excellent stay here. Managers, Pat and Bill, were warm and friendly and quite humorous. They made us feel like long-time friends. The airport shuttle picked us up promptly, our room was ready early (we really appreciated that!) and the room had everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. We were especially impressed with how thoroughly the kitchen was stocked. They even provided different types of coffee and tea and both skim and whole milk in the fridge. WOW!

We were also impressed that they had a complimentary washing machine and dryer on site.

Since we had no transportation (we were picking up a camper van the next day) we were able to order take-out from a nearby Thai restaurant and they delivered to our door. The menus of the nearby restaurants were in a book in the room. Very handy.

This is a boutique motel with a warm, friendly atmosphere and terrific service. They do what so many places can't seem to figure out - provide MORE than you expect!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvgal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather D, Owner at Airport Palms Motel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
3.7 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Palms Motel

Property: Airport Palms Motel
Address: 56 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2011, Airport Palms Motel offers 22 tastefully decorated and comfortable units as well as friendly and helpful staff. Only 3 minutes drive from Christchurch International Airport, with a wide range of attractions and facilities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing