We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean and close to Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Palms Motel
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel was very comfortable and close to the airport. It did cost us quite a bit ($22) to get a taxi from the airport though. We stayed on both our arrival and departure and because our flights arrived late and left early we could not utilise the free shuttle service that the hotel offers. If I was arriving late again, I would consider an airport hotel with a 24 hr shuttle service from the airport.

Apart from that the bed was very comfortable and the shower had plenty of pressure. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood.

For a great traditional Chinese feed check out the Wok in Cafe a short walk away. It offers traditional Chinese food that is well priced in a simple venue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keithsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (770)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 770 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Arrived early and allocated room not available so was upgraded to available room (with spa). Nice modern unit with simple kitchenette. Very clean and well presented with nice touches like a desk to use for limited free wifi. Comfortable bed and very large screen TV. Parking immediately outside unit which was handy as it was raining. Staff provided directions to service station (handy for filling rental cars before dropping off) and there was also a supermarket nearby. A little expensive but probably typical for Christchurch location.

I did not use the provided shuttle bus to the airport. Ideal place to stay when flying in or out. Took me less than 10 minutes to drive to car drop off at 5:30am.

Check rental car drop off locations beforehand if you can. There are a lot of roadworks in the area and it can be a bit confusing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuzzaBallina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

we stayed here twice, both 1 night stay during transit. we had a family 1 bdrm unit, nice size and clean. staff was friendly with good suggestions to restaurants and attractions. We had a very early flight and the office helped to arrange a taxi, I think the ride was under $20 incl. a tip. will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

the rooms are modern and fresh and well equip. The rooms are quite small however and our unit did not contain an air-conditioning unit so had to leave the window open. they would be warm in the winter

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This served as our base for the beginning and end of our NZ trip. Liked the kitchenette. Rooms very clean. Close to airport but quiet. Restaurants and basic shopping within walking distance. Bus stop very close to sightseeing Christchurch. Hosts were great in providing information.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the about the same. There may be some upper level rooms near the road tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our room was clean and adequate. It has heating but no AC that we could find, and our room had a western exposure so it was a bit warm. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was no problem to check out at the same time we checked in so we could leave at 4:30 am for an early morning flight. A short, easy drive to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My family and I stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. There was plenty of space and all of the rooms where comfortable, quiet and clean. They were also very modern. The motel is very quiet and we had a wonderful sleep. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesADavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,028 reviews
3.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Palms Motel

Address: 56 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £78 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2011, Airport Palms Motel offers 22 tastefully decorated and comfortable units as well as friendly and helpful staff. Only 3 minutes drive from Christchurch International Airport, with a wide range of attractions and facilities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airport Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing