We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Big serves. ”

Joe's Garage Riccarton
Ranked #338 of 991 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good. Big serves. ”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Kids menu. Schnitzel, sausages, chips etc.
My twice cooked pork belly was a huge serve. Kids meals were quite substantial too with REAL fried potatoes. Not the pre packed factory ones. Very happy for our last night in NZ.

Helpful?
Thank BSM56F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    60
    30
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit too plastic”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Everything was OK with my visit to Joe's Cafe, but it all seemed a bit like an 'eating experience solution'. All a bit plastic and too slick. I'm sure its to other people's taste, just not mine - I like a little more soul in restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EddiePuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food and plenty of it”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Big servings, friendly, efficient service and nice surroundings. Well worth a visit. The outdoor area is heated, including the seats so don't be put off by the weather if outdoor seating is the only option

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki255109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food reasonable price”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The menu is fairly standard American Café type fare, but the meals are of a good quality. Modern surroundings and a great place to take the family. Certainly not for those seeking peace and quiet but has a good energy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

meals took too long to come out so two of our party had to cancel as they were due at airport. Drinks came after the meal as the waitress said our docket had fallen down the counter and been misplaced. not a pleasant experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pistol116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Garage Riccarton also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Joe's Garage Riccarton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing