We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE WORST PEOPLE IN NZ!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury House Backpackers

Canterbury House Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canterbury House Backpackers
Zichron Yaakov, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE WORST PEOPLE IN NZ!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

With no other choice beacause every other hostel was full, we stayed one night in this weird place.
Yes, it is clean and you'll get a shower and a kitchen.
BUT - it is a place of two owners that makes you feel terrible! It feels like they don't even want you to be there. YOU WILL BE ENTERING A DOLL HOUSE!! There are a 1000 rules of what you are allowed and not allowed to do! You won't ever feel comfortable in this place!!!
Don't waste you money on this awfull place!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a single room, one of the few places I could fond one. Would've been better to stay closer to town center of Christchurch. It was nice and clean, and didnt have to wait to use shower or toilet in the house.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 2012kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and felt like we were visiting our grandma's house. It was clean and well kept but you felt like you couldn't move for being watched. The owners were everywhere. We would have liked to watch some tv or sit in the lounge but they were there. When we at breakfast they were there. We couldn't wear shoes inside and I felt like we were going to get in trouble for doing something wrong. Nice facilities but felt uncomfortable the whole time we were there.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Suissegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

When I arrived Keiko opened the front door and greeted me, telling me to take my shoes off as I entered. I was shown to my room and then had to go into the office to pay my nights stay. I was given my room key and a limited free wifi voucher which didn't last very long but was very handy! I was then shown around the house where the nearest bathrooms were. I was also shown the kitchen and dining area which I could use. I then went back into my room and met other guests who were very friendly. The room I was given had a normal single bed and a bunk bed- so I was sharing a room with two other people which isn't too bad. The bed had clean linen and a chocolate treat for me as I arrived. The rooms seemed quite old fashioned but it didn't matter as I only had to sleep there for one night. The bed was comfortable and there was enough bedding provided to keep me warm.

I used the shower when I arrived which stayed very clean and the water stayed warm for a long time which is good. There are hairdryers I could choose from to use and I didn't have to pay a deposit or ask to use them.

In the kitchen there was plenty of equipment provided for the guests. There was kettles, microwaves and ovens guests can use which is good. There was free tea, coffee, milo and hot chocolate provided too. I used the kitchen and sat in the dining room while I ate. In the corner of the dining room is an information area which is full of leaflets and maps. Alan who also owns the house is a very sweet man. He was very helpful and gave me leaflets and maps which could come in handy. He also gave me good tips for the places which I was travelling to and I felt comfortable speaking to him.

The intercity bus stop is a 20 minute walk from the house which is not too far but make sure you leave plenty of time as it can take a while to walk there if you have a lot of bags.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at this house. I wouldn't call it a "hostel" as it just felt very homey which I liked. It was nice to stay in Canterbury house as I had been staying in hostels all week and it was nice that the house had a very homey feeling about it. They also have a cat which is very cute and adds to the feeling of it being home-like. I recommend staying here and I would definitely stay again if I had to stay in Christchurch. I would have liked to stay longer to get to know Alan & Keiko more as they were both very friendly but it was a shame I had to leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything you need in a hostel. Clean kitchen, good showers, warm bedding, towels provided, 10 min walk from CBD. Friendly owners live in the same house, so more of a homestay than hostel. Free WiFi voucher too

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was passing through Christchurch on my way back from Lake Tekapo and needed a place to stay just for two nights.The hostel is basically Alan & Keiko's house which they share with backpackers. It was very clean and quiet. I only paid 45 NZD per night. The room I had was very small but the bed was pretty comfortable. It wasn't the prettiest of rooms but what can I expect for only 45NZD? I was out in the city most of the time I was there, so didn't really need a big room anyway. I saw some of the other rooms in the house and they looked quite nice and big.

The kitchen and bathrooms are very clean. They have a lovely garden, which had lots of flowers blooming, so in the summer it would make a lovely area to sit out and enjoy the fine weather. It's about 20 minutes walk to the city centre and 10 minutes walk to the two nearest supermarkets. Location-wise it's good, if you don't mind walking. The American lady who works there was very friendly and helpful. Keiko could do with improving on her hospitality I think. I found her a bit brash and fussy. I would recommend this hostel though.

Room Tip: There is a Speight's Bar and Restaurant next door to this hostel. If you're staying on a Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in this backpackers for 1 night and on arrival I was greeted by the owner and taken on a tour around the house. It was very comfortable, and I was made to feel right at home. Everything was clean, and the garden was lovely too. The owner was extremely helpful and went out of his way to ensure I was alright. He even gave me some handy tips and brochures for my next location. An enjoyable stay and would highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#14 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#10 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#23 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#8 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urbanz
Urbanz
#28 of 111 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#18 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House Backpackers

Property: Canterbury House Backpackers
Address: 257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Canterbury House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing