We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good setting.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables Bar & Cafe - CLOSED

The Stables Bar & Cafe
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The food is not too fancy, but nor is it too expensive. Good, healthy food, friendly service, and a pleasant garden to sit and eat in.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“new kids to the block, nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were wanting a quick bite for lunch, and discovered the Stables, which had been open for 3 days only. We grabbed a sandwich which is hard to find in Akaroa, but it was all we wanted, and it was very nice. Great coffee, and as it was a cold day we sat inside, but loved the look of the outdoor area. The stables also has a more extensive menu which looked great and we will try out next time we are over. Good luck guys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
183 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Nice place, quality ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

This place is very nice with tables in a big garden.
Little choice of food, service ok and quality good.
Not very chaep

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KawasakiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The beef burger in this restaurant will give fergburger a run for their money. it was delicious. they have live bands and a pool table, mac's gold on draft and lovely staff! give it a shot.. average cost of a main $20

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“grumpy service spoiled otherwise excellent coffee and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

attractive garden setting, needing maintenance however, excellent coffee and cheese rolls, and nice breakfast. Service needing attention as grumpy Andre declined to clean table and breakfast delivered 40 minutes after rest of food at a time when the cafe was not particularly busy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables Bar & Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing