We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic”

Punting on the Avon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.68*
and up
Punting on the Avon River with Optional Christchurch Gondola and Botanic...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing. Your Edwardian Punter will guide you quietly past trailing willows, woodlands and leafy banks as you absorb the beauty of Christchurch’s Botanic Gardens. Punting on the beautiful Avon River is an iconic Christchurch attraction not to be missed. Each Punting tour is 30 minutes duration with informative commentary, and you are returned to your point of departure.
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had perfect weather for our punting trip. There were just the two of us in our punt and our guide was very friendly and informative. We did the trip through the botanic gardens which were very picturesque with the rhododendrons out in flower. Relaxing and something everybody should do!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, Front Office Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time punting, and am pleased you had such lovely weather for it. The Botanic Gardens are beautiful at this time of year. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we wish you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    68
    11
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Relaxing and pretty boating experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's a great way to see the Botanic Gardens and enjoy the charm of Christchurch while relaxing. We even saw an eel in the river!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mpenzakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip through the gardens. Eels are plentiful this time of year but are quite shy, so you are lucky to have seen one.
Thank you for posting your review and we wish you all the best for future journeys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must do for a family...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Initially was not sure if this was what we really wanted to do.. but eventually decided to do it and what a decision it turned out to be ! Beautiful garden on one side, ducks going along with the boat and I couldn't have wanted more.. 1 of the best boating experience I ever had..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sungir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I love your duck photos! You also probably have one of the first photos of the new 'Watermark' landing by the boatsheds! The shots look great.
I am so glad that your whole family enjoyed the ride. It proves Punting is not just for the romantic.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unforgettable punting experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Punting along the Avon River is a must for those who visit Christchurch. Lovely ride, lovely people, lovely scenery and being there in early spring gave me extra bonus. The colorful flowers were everywhere in the Botanical garden and could be seen while punting.
Love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Achik72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for coming punting and writing such a fantastic review! Spring has truly sprung and the colours are just amazing.at the moment. Thank you again for taking a ride on the river with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A christchurch must do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

A must do activity in Christ church. We took the safari during evening to experience the scenery during sunset. The view of the garden from the river was beautiful and nothing could be much relaxing in a evening than this. Snapped some picture of birds and ducks. My son loved watching the baby ducks following its momy. At the end of journey, i felt like doing it one more time and my son said it. It would be nice to experience punting at every season.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vivekpkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We wish people could experience punting in all seasons. The scenery and wildlife are so varied throughout the year that you never have the same experience twice. Thank you for your kind words and hopefully see you again in another season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punting on the Avon also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Punting on the Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing