We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Delta Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aarburg Airport Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airways Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Birches Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avonhead Garden Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,579 results
Traveller rating
1,075
413
75
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
413
75
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness levelbusiness roompattersons restaurantdrink vouchersfree shuttlenew zealandon demandexcellent hotelshuttle servicenext morninglast nightsouth islandrental carcomfortable bedslong flightstayed one nightcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,329 - 1,334 of 1,579 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Service was impeccable, room was great and we had a fantastic time in the indoor heated pool and spa and ordering room service. Food was awesome and the buffet brekky was delicious! Will definitely use again!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucifers_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We were impressed with the service from the moment that we contacted the hotel from the airport to request the courtesy coach. The coach arrived within minutes (impressive when we actually saw the traffic congestion which has developed at the airport since the February earthquake) and the lady driver was very welcoming. When we needed to go back to the airport the next day to fly home, the coach was available immediately.
Checkin was easy and the staff also welcoming and helpful. The gentleman porter who took us up to our room was a welcome feature (we're not used to this kind of service), gentleman being the order of the day.
Our room was cosy, clean and readily accessible for family members who came out to visit. It was also handy to the restaurant and bar but quiet. We didn't hear any noise from either the bar, or the major highway (Memorial Avenue) which runs outside. Only heard one jet engine being tested at the airport during the night and had a great night's sleep.
We spent 2 nights (at begining and end of a trip to Australia) and were VERY happy with out stays. As we visit Christchurch regularly The Commodore is a happy discovery.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janjohn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were flying into Christchurch to begin a trip around the South Island and then returning to this hotel before departure. We found the hotel so welcoming and the service levels so good that it really started and ended our trip perfectly. The collection and dropping off at the airport was very efficient and when we got to the hotel, we were very quickly shown to our room which was clean and comfortable. The food at breakfast was varied and service was excellent. The food in the bar and restaurant for dinner was also very good and well priced. I really enjoyed the outdoor seating area which had a gas fire for the chilly evenings. This was a great meeting place to chat to other guests. The damaged city was off limits to visitors, but we hope we can get back to visit the city when the rebuilding work is done. We will definitely stay at the Copthorne.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit away from reception.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

On check-in, after midnight, we were not allocated the correct level rooms which was frustrating. Day 1 staff pulled the bed up but did absolutely no other room tidying or cleaning - dirty cups left, bath mat left on floor, towels left tossed on the bath.

Restaurant has very limited options if you are staying longer than one day..

Having said that, most staff were friendly and helpful, and hotel generally runs efficiently. Nice lounge and restaurant space. The shuttle is very convenient.

I found it ridiculous that you couldn't even print in the business centre without paying the exorbitant internet fees. When will these hotels introduce reasonable or complimentary wireless access. It's crazy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had originally booked the Copthorne Central, but following the February earthqake we had to move hotels and booked the Commodore Airport Hotel.

On arrival at the hotel, the Duty Manager, Jaimie, sorted our reservation and walked us to our room, as well as showing us the room facilities. We were well impressed with everything and by the welcome / level of comfort at this hotel. Airport hotels are normally just a place to rest your head after a long flight, however, this hotel is actually a delight to stay in.

The room was very comfortable, bright, clean and airy. Air conditioning was very good with tea coffee faclites and a great bathroom.

The breakfasts are served in Pattersons restaurant and had a lot to choose from.

We actually stayed here twice, once on arriving into Christchurch and again the night before leaving to go home.

The Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport, New Zealand is a great hotel and one not to be missed. Thanks to all at the hotel for making our stay as pleasant as possible - we were sad to leave such a nice location for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews