We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

It is an airport hotel but I would stay for longer terms than this even when CBD is up and running. Warm comfortable and clean.

After long flights can not believe how quiet hotel was and we all slept in!!

Kids loved the heated pool and the grounds are really nice and relaxing.

Staff and people of Christchurch you are amazing!! We stayed there on the day of one of the bigger aftershocks and they went out of their way to make sure everyone was ok.

Thank you for a great stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan-Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,445)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 1,445 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

If you want an airport hotel in Christchurch then this is the place to go !

Rooms are nice (go for the new rooms if you can afford it), with most having a balcony or outside space to sit. Well equipped snack / mini bars and comfortable beds.

The staff are very friendly and professional. Room service was great ... I had an excellent steak, although it had every kind of add on / sauce you could imagine and was "too much" (e,g: red wine / mushroom (?) sauce, cheese, pesto, unadvertised black pudding sausage etc etc) definitely a lot more than listed on the menu (not the normal chef ??)

There is a pool & spa and you're only 5mins from the airport but its also very quiet.

Room Tip: business level has the nicest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iamsuperk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Service was impeccable, room was great and we had a fantastic time in the indoor heated pool and spa and ordering room service. Food was awesome and the buffet brekky was delicious! Will definitely use again!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucifers_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We were impressed with the service from the moment that we contacted the hotel from the airport to request the courtesy coach. The coach arrived within minutes (impressive when we actually saw the traffic congestion which has developed at the airport since the February earthquake) and the lady driver was very welcoming. When we needed to go back to the airport the next day to fly home, the coach was available immediately.
Checkin was easy and the staff also welcoming and helpful. The gentleman porter who took us up to our room was a welcome feature (we're not used to this kind of service), gentleman being the order of the day.
Our room was cosy, clean and readily accessible for family members who came out to visit. It was also handy to the restaurant and bar but quiet. We didn't hear any noise from either the bar, or the major highway (Memorial Avenue) which runs outside. Only heard one jet engine being tested at the airport during the night and had a great night's sleep.
We spent 2 nights (at begining and end of a trip to Australia) and were VERY happy with out stays. As we visit Christchurch regularly The Commodore is a happy discovery.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janjohn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We were flying into Christchurch to begin a trip around the South Island and then returning to this hotel before departure. We found the hotel so welcoming and the service levels so good that it really started and ended our trip perfectly. The collection and dropping off at the airport was very efficient and when we got to the hotel, we were very quickly shown to our room which was clean and comfortable. The food at breakfast was varied and service was excellent. The food in the bar and restaurant for dinner was also very good and well priced. I really enjoyed the outdoor seating area which had a gas fire for the chilly evenings. This was a great meeting place to chat to other guests. The damaged city was off limits to visitors, but we hope we can get back to visit the city when the rebuilding work is done. We will definitely stay at the Copthorne.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit away from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lackavra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

On check-in, after midnight, we were not allocated the correct level rooms which was frustrating. Day 1 staff pulled the bed up but did absolutely no other room tidying or cleaning - dirty cups left, bath mat left on floor, towels left tossed on the bath.

Restaurant has very limited options if you are staying longer than one day..

Having said that, most staff were friendly and helpful, and hotel generally runs efficiently. Nice lounge and restaurant space. The shuttle is very convenient.

I found it ridiculous that you couldn't even print in the business centre without paying the exorbitant internet fees. When will these hotels introduce reasonable or complimentary wireless access. It's crazy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had originally booked the Copthorne Central, but following the February earthqake we had to move hotels and booked the Commodore Airport Hotel.

On arrival at the hotel, the Duty Manager, Jaimie, sorted our reservation and walked us to our room, as well as showing us the room facilities. We were well impressed with everything and by the welcome / level of comfort at this hotel. Airport hotels are normally just a place to rest your head after a long flight, however, this hotel is actually a delight to stay in.

The room was very comfortable, bright, clean and airy. Air conditioning was very good with tea coffee faclites and a great bathroom.

The breakfasts are served in Pattersons restaurant and had a lot to choose from.

We actually stayed here twice, once on arriving into Christchurch and again the night before leaving to go home.

The Copthorne Hotel Commodore Christchurch Airport, New Zealand is a great hotel and one not to be missed. Thanks to all at the hotel for making our stay as pleasant as possible - we were sad to leave such a nice location for a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,938 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
660 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £106 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing