We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

From check-in to check-out, customer service was professional, prompt and friendly. Though expensive for 1 nights accommodation [conference I was attending was held here], the customer service was great.

Courtesy van to and from the airport, conference I attended staff were friendly and professional.

Stayed on the 2nd floor, though the room lacked a lot of natural light - it was clean, tidy and the bed [the room had a queen and double bed] was so comfortable. Bath and WC were separate from the washbasin and the lighting in the bathroom was rather dim - but great water pressure.

Comfortable room, great service and includes gym and pool [although not private - it's indoors, but location is near the outside court area and people can see inside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tewaiponamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    381
    69
    8
    6
See reviews for
318
551
75
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney-Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

After many years of staying right in the city of Christchurch we have had to now find alternatiove accommodation. Thank goodness we have found somewhere with beautifully appointed rooms & also close to the airport as we are frequent flyers as well. The courtesy bus was also an added bonus as well & we will definitley be making more use of that in the future. Overall, rooms, Restaurant & staff made our stay here most enjoyable, thank you & we'll be back in October

Room Tip: We booked an executive suite & the room was incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chester66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My adult daughter and I just had a blissful 3-night stay at the Copthorne Commodore. The room was luxurious and the beds were so comfortable. The staff were friendly and very attentive. The food was delicious and the wine soooo good. Great facilities too.

We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxyredhead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed early July at the start of a 3 week NZ family holiday. Prompt airport shuttle pickup and efficient, friendly check in. Very spacious family room, with nice decor and comfortable beds. Small kitchenette and good size flat screen TV. Huge bathroom with heated floor was appreciated at the next morning. Had dinner at the hotels Pattersons restaurant and the food and service was great. A really enjoyable meal at good prices too.
Not many airport hotels are as great as the Copthorne Commodore and we thought the room rate was a bargain as well. Well done to all the team there.

Room Tip: Peninsula room perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here having had our Queenstown flight cancelled so drove to Christchurch and arrived at the hotel late at night. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and we were upgraded to the Hillary Suite which was lovely - separate living, kitchen and dining area with a huge and comfortable bed. Unfortunately we weren't able to take full advantage of the hotel facilities as we had to leave at 5am to fly out but the 24 hour hotel airport transfer bus was there and waiting to take us. The freephone number was also very helpful when booking as we had no mobile phone access. A great hotel which I'd recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaBucklebury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Excellent location if one is needed close to the airport at Christchurch. The pick-up service is wonderful to and from the airport and if you have business in the airport area, then the same service applies. Very friendly and reliable!! The rooms are good as is the small but well equipped gym, and the heated pool in winter is just wonderful.

The Commodore has a good bar area, and dinning area conveniently located - although the restaurant could do with more attentive service staff at least on my last stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeWhiz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed a few nights for work this week. The business rooms are very comfortable, quiet and well setup. Internet connection was excellent, fast and useful for Skype video meetings. Check in and out was easy.
Restaurant food was excellent, but busy so I would have preferred room service dinner if it had been available.
Staff are great and very professional. I'd recommend this place to my best customers.
The only negative was the price in all areas. Maybe that's just the way it is in Christchurch at the moment?

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing