We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & best service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel exceeds my expectation in everything, particularly the outstanding service provided by the staff. I am amazed by the great altitude of the stuff; I had the impression that the staff were very happy and hence the great altitude to serve the customers. Dinner & breakfast at the restaurant is great.

Near the airport and free airport transfer is prompt. Thought paid Internet in room, free Internet is available at the lobby and the cafe/bar.

This is the best hotel I had encountered so far, and is highly recommended. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip.

Room Tip: Check their package offer.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel. It is truly a pleasure to stay here. The service is outstanding and the rooms are very nice. The hotel is quiet and I experienced the best sleep I've ever had on the road!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eaglespud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stay in the back business section. This is a wonderful, peaceful hotel in very comfortable surroundings. While a bit out of the CBD (such as it is), nothing is too far in Christchurch. Free pick ups and drop offs to the airport are a bonus. Main gripe is the non existent wifi in the business rooms. Also it annoys me when you have to pay for wifi. It should be free (or part of the bill). Copthorne - please change your practice on this!

other than that - this is my Hotel for Christchurch

Room Tip: If on business ask to stay in the business area at back of hotel
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaeljane, Front Office Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel, we are pleased that you choose us for your accommodation when in Christchurch.

It is pleasing to advise that since your stay in November we have installed Wi-Fi throughout the entire hotel and you should not experience any further problems accessing this service from the Business Level (or any other room in the hotel).

At present there is still a charge for internet access in your room, however, complimentary Wi-Fi is available in the hotel lounge and terrace area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Myself and my partner has stayed a few times over the last couple of months and the three times we have had the pleasure to be at the Commodore it has been impressive.

From the check in, dinner, beverage & breakfast - the complete service has been outstanding without been over the top. Staff actually seem to want to be here which is not always the case unfortunately.

Huge thanks to the housekeeping team as the rooms have always been clean with all the items in them and would appear to be where they are meant to be. With my partner residing in Christchurch its great to be able to get away for a night and to be spoiled

Thanks very much to all and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Enjoy the service and realx
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We only stayed for one night after 3 weeks travelling in NZ however I have stayed at this hotel several times over many years and it has undergone considerable changes during that time but still maintains a high level of service and quality

The rooms are very spacious, modern and well equiped and very clean

The restaurant, Pattersons, offers a wide range of food which is well presented and of a high standard

All the staff are friendly and attentive

The location is not CBD but is only 5mins from the airport so very convenient in that respect and is on a main road into the city so easy to get around if you have a car

I would have no hesitation in staying here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here the night before leaving NZ after the rwc. After almost 6 weeks in a campervan we were totally blown away by the hospitality of the staff and the quality & size of the room (I think it was called a sunset suite). I'd rate it the equal of a 5 star hotel in Aus. Definitely will spend a couple of days there and have a good look around Christchurch when we come back. We had an excellent meal at the restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here last week and was placed in a 'Business' room and they are fantastic! Bright and spacious and immaculately presented. Pity I didn't take the wife. Staff are so friendly - great personal service

Room Tip: New business rooms out back
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,899 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £105 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing