We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Upwey, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Always a great place to stay.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. Since our last visit a beautiful outdoor seating area with gas fire and large television screen had been installed. Our room was quiet and with wonderful heavy curtaining we were not woken at first light. With breakfast served until 10.30am and check out at 11am it meant we could have a leisurely start to the day. Our only criticism is with the toasters at breakfast. They need to be updated as they take so very, very long to cook a piece of toast. Overall a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone arriving in Christchurch by plane as it is just a few minutes from the airport but with very little disturbance from planes flying over.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    384
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
320
558
75
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a very good hotel, with very kind and helpful service and comfortable rooms. The food was good too. I wish we could stay there more. I think this is the best hotel we've been to in the South Island.

Room Tip: We had the Banks Peninsula room - which is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Used the hotel as a base for 3 nights for touring the area. Large and comfortable room on the ground floor by the main staircase but no real noise. Only negative was the room looked out on a dark garden area and there was little natural light. We ate both in the restaurant and the bar area and along with the breakfasts everything was excellent including the very young staff that were in attendance. The hotel is used by the US Antarctic Expedition as a stopover so the bar can be very busy at times and it's worth booking a table in the restaurant. Everyone was early to bed though as they had very early flights out in the morning. A large parking area and easy access to the main roads in to town and out to Canterbury with the airport minutes away make this an excellent base. We even had the house cat protecting our bedroom door at night!

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed in a well decorated and quiet room on the business level.
Clean and straight forward, very helpful and friendly staff.
Everything was just fine!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trendyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having visited Christchurch briefly earlier, we did not need to use this hotel as a base for exploring the city. It was, however, very convenient for the airport, when leaving New Zealand for Australia. Standard city hotel which was very comfortable. The swimming pool area was quite cold and we could not make the spa pool work, but may be due to our lack of skills. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Copthorne Commodore Christchurch Airport for one night. We had a spacious, well equipped room for four of us, 2 adults and 2 children. Right by airport and an easy drive into town. Reasonably priced meals at the restaurant, free wifi in the lobby/bar. Children enjoyed the indoor pool, slightly heated. Would stay again next time I'm in Christchurch.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 5fromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel exceeds my expectation in everything, particularly the outstanding service provided by the staff. I am amazed by the great altitude of the stuff; I had the impression that the staff were very happy and hence the great altitude to serve the customers. Dinner & breakfast at the restaurant is great.

Near the airport and free airport transfer is prompt. Thought paid Internet in room, free Internet is available at the lobby and the cafe/bar.

This is the best hotel I had encountered so far, and is highly recommended. I will definitely stay at this hotel on my next trip.

Room Tip: Check their package offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
613 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelClick, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing