We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

In Christchurch we always stay at the Commodore. Stayed twice, for a total of 11 days, in our recent 5 week trip to NZ. Very conveniently situated and well away from the dust of the post-quake demolitions in the city. The staff are always so friendly and helpful. Everywhere is spotless and there's a great range of room layouts to choose from - family rooms, business rooms and a honeymoon corner room. Plenty of choice on the menu with the bar nearby. And if it's warm there's the garden room outside. If you like felines, keep an eye out for Ken the Cat.

Room Tip: If the budget will stretch, go for a business level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

This is our second visit to this hotel and we were not disappointed. Since our last visit a beautiful outdoor seating area with gas fire and large television screen had been installed. Our room was quiet and with wonderful heavy curtaining we were not woken at first light. With breakfast served until 10.30am and check out at 11am it meant we could have a leisurely start to the day. Our only criticism is with the toasters at breakfast. They need to be updated as they take so very, very long to cook a piece of toast. Overall a wonderful time and would recommend to anyone arriving in Christchurch by plane as it is just a few minutes from the airport but with very little disturbance from planes flying over.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a very good hotel, with very kind and helpful service and comfortable rooms. The food was good too. I wish we could stay there more. I think this is the best hotel we've been to in the South Island.

Room Tip: We had the Banks Peninsula room - which is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Used the hotel as a base for 3 nights for touring the area. Large and comfortable room on the ground floor by the main staircase but no real noise. Only negative was the room looked out on a dark garden area and there was little natural light. We ate both in the restaurant and the bar area and along with the breakfasts everything was excellent including the very young staff that were in attendance. The hotel is used by the US Antarctic Expedition as a stopover so the bar can be very busy at times and it's worth booking a table in the restaurant. Everyone was early to bed though as they had very early flights out in the morning. A large parking area and easy access to the main roads in to town and out to Canterbury with the airport minutes away make this an excellent base. We even had the house cat protecting our bedroom door at night!

Room Tip: Higher floors will give you more natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed in a well decorated and quiet room on the business level.
Clean and straight forward, very helpful and friendly staff.
Everything was just fine!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trendyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having visited Christchurch briefly earlier, we did not need to use this hotel as a base for exploring the city. It was, however, very convenient for the airport, when leaving New Zealand for Australia. Standard city hotel which was very comfortable. The swimming pool area was quite cold and we could not make the spa pool work, but may be due to our lack of skills. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the Copthorne Commodore Christchurch Airport for one night. We had a spacious, well equipped room for four of us, 2 adults and 2 children. Right by airport and an easy drive into town. Reasonably priced meals at the restaurant, free wifi in the lobby/bar. Children enjoyed the indoor pool, slightly heated. Would stay again next time I'm in Christchurch.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank 5fromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
685 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £113 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing