We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mostly good..”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne Commodore in Christchurch on business for two night's in the week of the 26th August.

On arrival at the airport I was impressed by the prompt and friendly shuttle driver. I arrived at the hotel very early - about 10am. From previous conversations with the reception staff I understood that there was a full house the night before and that I would be unable to check in immediately on arrival. The reception staff did process the check in but advised me that I would have to wait for my room. I was fine with that and asked if someone could come and let me know when my room became avaialbe as I would be staying onsite. I settled down in the lovely outside courtyard until it became too cold and I move in to the little lounge which was also very nice and comfortable. At 12 noon I was told I would need to move before 12.30 as there was a booking for lunch in the lounge. There were also a number of bookings in the restaruant so it appeared the only inside place to wait was the two chairs in front of reception. After about an hour of waiting there and seeing several big groups check in and get handed their room keys I approached reception and asked if my room was ready - it was. There was no apology from the receptionist for not letting me know earlier.

The room itself was nice, spacious and comfortable and I don't beleve it was one of the newly rennovated rooms. It was exactly what I needed for my stay. I was travelling in a group with others who were not so lucky. One of the rooms had a ranchslider with a broken locking mechanism so it had a security chain on in instead (the door could be opened from the outside a couple of inches even with the chain on) and another room that had heating stuck on the high setting so resembled a sauna.

In the afternoon of my first day, the shuttle service took me to and bought me back from the local shopping mall. Once again I received very friendly and prompt service.

Service was very hit and miss in the restaurant at breakfast time, getting something as simple as a glass of water was quiet difficult when the water station had run out. The selection of breakfast was quite good.

If you are a tourist to Christchurch this hotel is not in the most accessible location to the central city.

All in all, would I stay again if travelling for business? Yes, I would. I basically believe this hotel have good bones but could do with a bit of a polish.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    381
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
318
548
75
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Booked a room at last minute getting a reduced rate. Regular room with free drink. Bar staff excellent. Restaurant meal top value. Excellent cuisine including a very nice wine & beer. Very memorable dinner & cooked breakfast. Would definitely stay again if available. Asset to ChCh in its rebuild state.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctorjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear DoctorJanet,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed here for business as was the hotel a small conference I was attending was using. Conference wasn't at the hotel. Stayed 2 nights.

Had both good and very average experiences from a service perspective. Free shuttle from airport speedy and pleasant service. The group I was with had a number of less than great experiences with reception from simplest requests to managing trying to pay bills for 6 rooms on one account. Wait staff in restaurant seemed incapable of adding an extra setting to a table at breakfast so we ended up grabbing a chair and c

Located in a more suburban area near the airport it is not an easy walk to a cafe or shops. The hotel does offer a shuttle service to a local shopping area and the airport.

Hotel is comfortable but a little tired in places. The Commodore has had a captive market recently with most of the city hotels out of commission, but with new hotels now opening in the city they are competing with more modern feeling amenities and on price. We stayed on in Christchurch for the weekend, but moved to another hotel as it had a better deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear 01Foodie,

Thank you for reviewing the Commodore. We have certainly taken "on board" your comments around service and will be using them for training.

You can be sure that over the next few years you will see continuous upgrading and refurbishment of our Hotel.

Our family have been here for forty one years and we intend ensureing the the Commodore is ready to compete with the new competion we may see.

Kind regards
Michael Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I've never written a review or considered writing a review for a hotel but this time I was very impressed. I travel often, mostly on business and I wish I had a hotel like this in every city! I was able to catch the shuttle to and from the airport (very pleasant driver), I was expected on arrival and check-in was efficient with friendly, capable staff able to answer any questions and always willing to help. The hotel has a relaxed feel, it was busy but with a wonderful atmosphere. My room was spacious and clean with everything I needed. The food at the restaurant was very enjoyable, I could have quite happily spent another couple of nights there. See you next time I'm in Christchurch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMARIA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear DMARIA2013,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

Your positive comments are a great motivator for our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Michael Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
154 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Copthorne Commodore is that rarity, a hotel that seems like it has an individual character. The staff are brilliantly friendly and the rooms very pleasant, especially those with a view out to the gardens. It is a little trek into the city, but very well located for transit to the airport, and the transit bus goes at command virtually. Several cuts above most other airport hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brians1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear brians1195,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Commodore.

You can be sure that the whole team will see your positive comments.

Kind regards
Michael Patterson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Given the shortage of accommodation in Christchurch since their devastating earthquakes, the Copthorne is one of the premier hotels in the city. That being said, this hotel is pretty dated. The rooms are more like motel rooms than hotel rooms and I was disappointed with the shower service. I had a shower at 7am and it was tepid at best. Several colleagues mentioned they'd also had lukewarm showers the evening before so this would appear to be a systemic issue that needs attention. On the up side, the staff at the hotel were fantastic, both in the restaurant and at reception. They do their very best to make a dated facility as welcoming as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_Was_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
351 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stay here on a reasonably regular. The business suites are excellent. The facilities, including a gym, indoor pool and spa pool, are good. The staff are friendly and helpful, until you arrive in the dining room. I don't know whether it's the number of visitors, the standard chores that need to be done around the servicing of the dining service, or a lack of training about watchful, proactive attention to the needs of diners, but something is missing. This is particularly true at breakfast time. One morning I watched while two staff chatted as they dried glasses at the bar and another stood off to the side and seemed disinterested in the arrival of guests arriving. On three (of the five mornings) I had to get up and go to someone to request my beverage of choice. I keep hoping it will improve and, while not a big thing, find it irritating that a basic, personalised piece of customer service is missing. I want to give this hotel a 4 or 5. It was tempting, given this last stay, to rate it a 2.

Room Tip: If you are having breakfast here, order your beverage of choice as you 'check into' the dini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing