We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than you expect from an airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“More than you expect from an airport hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The facilities here are great. Outside patio area, sun loungers and indoor pool. Restaurant sells wide range of food. Wifi is free in public areas only was the only downside. Room was comfy and clean. All in all a great night's stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    385
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
324
561
76
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gunnedah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We had an overnight stay for a very early airplane departure. I can't fault this room. We were on the second floor, king size pillow top bed with down pillows. The mini bar and coffee facilities had a huge choice. The bed was amazing comfortable and I was surprised to see a nanny nap rug which I took full advantage of, even though I'm not a nanny! Hehe.
We didn't use the restaurant, but did facilitate the room service option which was prompt and delicious!
Well done guys, I will be staying at copthorne hotels whenever that is an option.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MummaD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our last night in NZ before departing to Brisbane on a 6am flight. I booked it purely because it was one of two hotels that offered a free airport shuttle 24/7. We were so glad we booked it because it really was more than just an airport hotel.

The services and facilities were endless and definitely enough to stay more than 1 night. They have everything on-site so you don't need to go anywhere - restaurant/ bar with free wifi, indoor heated swimming pool, gym etc. Their range of toiletries provided in the room was endless.

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, both in concierge/front desk and the restaurant. Best service we had on our 17 day holiday across the South Island.

The room was clean, comfortable and quiet.

You do pay a bit more to stay here (our room was $207) but it is worth every cent for you get convenience and outstanding service. If you can afford it - do it! This was a great way to end our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim-Andrew04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here on our final night in the South Island before flying to Auckland. Perfect location with easy access to and from the airport, and a free shuttle bus. Room was spacious, and the laundry facilities were great. We ate in the restaurant which was very good, and the total cost provided good value. Would use this hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What wonderful night we had after travelling back up from Queenstown. The staff, food and service were fantastic! I would definitely stay again! Our room was quiet and top quality. The room service unbeatable!

Room Tip: If you want a great place to sleep before your next flight this is the place to be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have been staying nearby hotel to airport in many places but this is one of best hotel with great service by far.

Only one night we booked due to very early morning flight. We are very pleased to stay here. We wish we could have stay longer because we like what we saw; great services, good food from Patterson restaurant (plenty staff to ensure your beer mug is filled to the top).

The hotel location is not far from town and so close to airport. The hotel provided transfer to airport if require.

Both thumbs up!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saifon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here twice while on our trip through NZ. We stayed the night we arrived to NZ at midnight and the night before we left 3 weeks later.

The staff were so friendly from the moment we were picked up from the airport to check-in. Our flight from Australia arrived an hour late but when I called to be picked up the driver was so nice and promptly picked us up.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. They were stocked with just about everything we needed and we had plenty of clean towels! There were no noise issues even though we were on the ground floor the first time we stayed. The second time we stayed some work was being done to some of the rooms on the same floor we stayed on but again we never had any noise issues.

We ate breakfast once while we were there and was good, but not fantastic. But then again my boyfriend and I always like to venture out discover all the local cafes. We will definitely book here again on our next trip through Christchurch.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dash0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing