We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a travel hotel. Shame no free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here twice. Friendly, helpful staff, excellent standard of accommodation. Real shame that they charge for wifi (incidently there is a workaround whereby any browsers open on your computer will connect without you having to sign in....). There really is no excuse for not providing free wifi in a hotel with bathrobes, fitness centre etc etc

The food can be very good but a dish I had in a big shared meal had clearly been under the lights a long time and was a bit congealed.

Breakfast was the standard fare for such hotels. Nicely cooked and good quality ingredients. A shame the natural yoghurt was sweetened....

Minibus drivers were delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for 10 days whilst performing at the World Buskers Festival. It's away from the city, but they do everything they can to make going into town easy - free bike hire, free bus passes, rental cars onsite. Lovely indoor pool, gym, spa and sauna, good bar (first drink is free each day you stay!) and the new rooms are great. Free shuttle to the airport and a local shopping mall too. I worked weird hours but they still managed to service my room daily, even at night. Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newly renovated/rebuilt wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZigmundNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is our second time at this hotel. It has a great location. The service is wonderful. You really feel special here. The staff goes out of their way to make sure your needs are met. We will be back here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deereJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The mark of a good hotel is when they go out of their way to help you when you need assistance. We lost all of our travel documents barring our passports and the front desk helped us replace them and took us to our car hire company. All four of the staff that we met provided the kind of customer care that you rarely come across these days and we were very impressed, they truly looked after. The picked us up late at night from the airport and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is very clean, well appointed and the beds are lovely and comfortable. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frajaneducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We guessed that the Christchurch Copthorne Commodore would be a good choice - because we couldn't get in. Well, we could for the Sunday evening when arriving in Christchurch to do the TranzAlpine railway journey to Greymouth, but on our return on Tuesday, it would be fully booked. So we booked in for the Sunday, and were not disappointed.

A shuttle from the airport, with friendly driver. At the hotel, smiling friendly receptionists, and no queueing. We were shown to our room - clean, spacious, and my wife pleased with all the storage space, cupboards, wardrobe, etc. Big window looking out onto garden, but private. Easy to use shower.

Restaurant - loved it. Great steak. Friendly helpful staff. Not rushed, but not slow.

Very difficult to fault this hotel - so I won't. We would come here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The facilities here are great. Outside patio area, sun loungers and indoor pool. Restaurant sells wide range of food. Wifi is free in public areas only was the only downside. Room was comfy and clean. All in all a great night's stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julia186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had an overnight stay for a very early airplane departure. I can't fault this room. We were on the second floor, king size pillow top bed with down pillows. The mini bar and coffee facilities had a huge choice. The bed was amazing comfortable and I was surprised to see a nanny nap rug which I took full advantage of, even though I'm not a nanny! Hehe.
We didn't use the restaurant, but did facilitate the room service option which was prompt and delicious!
Well done guys, I will be staying at copthorne hotels whenever that is an option.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MummaD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
672 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £109 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing