We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Great stay. Very nice large new business rooms. The breakfast was average though. They did charge us a day later for a mini bar item that we never consumed (in fact we never touched the mini bar). But all in all a great place. Friendly staff, easy parking, spotless rooms, nice facilities. Thanks

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jamfactory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    931
    384
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
320
558
75
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

A group of us stopped at this hotel recently and what struck me immediately was the dedication of the staff members. From check-in to check-out all of the staff were obliging, friendly and courteous.
The rates seemed a little on the high side, but the quality of the hotel and the service provided by the friendly staff made my stay most pleasurable, and one that I would like to enjoy again in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bar-Gird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Clean, big rooms, helpful staff, free airport shuttle at any time, good restaurant, spa for free use which access to pool, sauna and gym - perfect for an early flight. It's a big hotel so on a good day I was told there is also a lounge outside. Would only stay here if catching a flight otherwise too far from centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekingduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We used this as our first stop straight from arriving at the airport in the late afternoon. That was an excellent decision; we were very pleased with the experience.

They pride themselves on their beds, and they are right to do so, very comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, both excellent and we used the free wi-fi (public areas).

Perhaps not a cheap stop but all in all most satisfactory with charming staff who took the time to talk, chat and generally be nice. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMQuestions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We made a reservation months in advance and checked in mid afternoon. We were given a room with no air conditioning and dirty sliding glass windows. We tried to get room change but told hotel was full and provided a fan instead. Glad we only stayed one night and would not recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Get one that has been refurbished recently if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svendog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sevendog,

I am disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay.

We are certainly trying to refurbish the Commodore as fast as is possible.

During the last couple of years we have expanded the Hotel considerably and now have a total of fifty "Business Level Rooms". It is our intention to upgrade the rooms that do not have air conditioning within the next couple of years.

Please next time do contact me directly should you be visiting Christchurch again.

Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I read the great reviews and booked an inexpensive pre-flight room with high hopes. Even accepting the modest cost c.$200, the experience was disappointing. Here are a few things for management to hopefully take on board....
The receptionists were pleasant but I suspect a bit self satisfied from all the reviews. Whilst ours showed us to the room, we were offered no luggage assistance and a glass left outside a bedroom door was ignored for someone else to pick up later.
Our room was an 'accessible' one which I find unacceptable unless specifically requested or advised pre-booking. We were moved, but I feel that hotels hope to embarrass you into acceptance for fear of appearing politically incorrect. On to room 2...
Our bath was not just chipped but well past it.
One of our cups had been used and left unwashed.
The air conditioning control appeared to offer cooler temperatures but, alas, reception advised the only was was up! ( ie the room wasn't a/c)

The bar staff and shuttle bus driver were excellent.

Overall a hotel in need of a facelift and a desire to earn accolades it doesn't currently deserve. Exec rooms are I'm sure in excellent shape but the hotel's marketing material is clever rather than clear. Standard rooms don't feature in the blurb for good reason.
Apols for a longer than normal review....

Room Tip: Go executive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Mark P,

I am sorry to hear that you were disastisfied with the quality of the Room selected for you.

You are correct in that there is a marked difference between the classes of rooms we have.

The Commodore is a business owned and operated by my family. We have in the last six months just finished adding another 20 "Business Level" Rooms and are now turning our attention to refurbishment.

Within the next two years the last block of our standard rooms will be renovated.

We do have a total of fifty "Business Level" Rooms which are truely five star.

Please do contact me directly if you are returning to Christchurch.

Yours sincerely

Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here twice. Friendly, helpful staff, excellent standard of accommodation. Real shame that they charge for wifi (incidently there is a workaround whereby any browsers open on your computer will connect without you having to sign in....). There really is no excuse for not providing free wifi in a hotel with bathrobes, fitness centre etc etc

The food can be very good but a dish I had in a big shared meal had clearly been under the lights a long time and was a bit congealed.

Breakfast was the standard fare for such hotels. Nicely cooked and good quality ingredients. A shame the natural yoghurt was sweetened....

Minibus drivers were delightful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariemusicademy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
611 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing