We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

New room, all beautifully appointed, super air con making room great for sleeping....also lovely comfortable bed. Restaurant good quality, good service and well priced. Very convenient for airport with free shuttle.

Room Tip: The new wing rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Pammie,

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We are certainly very proud of our "Business Level" and note that you commented on the bed, in fact we sell at least a couple of new beds each month to people who have stayed with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sinerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

The hotel is barely 5 minutes to the airport terminal in the shuttle that the hotel provides. Room was spacious and comfortable and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Free tickets on the bus to the centre of the city that stops outside are available. Restaurant food was also good.

Room Tip: Bed & breakfast rate is worthwhile if you intend to have breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjs1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear SJS,

We at the Commodore were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It was great to hear that you got to experience the city and take advantage of the Complimentary Bus Passes.

We look forawrd to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed one night at this family owned and managed Hotel five minutes drive from Christchurch Airport. We were allocated a well above average room in the newest part of the Hotel. Beautiful appointments throughout the room right down to high quality toiletries in the spacious, very elegant bathroom. More than comfortable bed affording a good night's sleep and a quiet warm environment.
We had the pleasure of dining in Patterson's Restaurant for dinner and breakfast and found the food to be excellent and the service attentive and unobtrusive. Very impressed with the experience.
Overall, the Hotel exudes a warm, caring and friendly atmosphere more prevalent in a smaller operation. The staff and the Patterson family indeed care greatly for the Hotel and this permeates through to the smaller details of this lovely establishment.

Room Tip: Try for upper floors facing out from the centre coutyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Peter L,

Thank you so much for your positive comments.

Our staff and family really do put their "Heart and Soul" into running the Commodore.

Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Handy location. Checkin a breeze. Porter staff on hand to take bags to room and point out hotel features along the way. Nice clean room and meet our needs with twin QB's. We stayed one night and enjoyed nice quiet stay even though they seemed quite full with Flower show on. Dined in the resturant - meal was average and came with a drink voucher. Do recommend the basil bread roll with aioli. Dont know what they do to it, but unbeleivably nice - best part of the meal. All in all a reasonable nights stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aidsnang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Aidsnag,

You really must have enjoyed the bread! We will certainly talk over your comments with the Kitchen team.

I am pleased that you found the accommodation comfortable too.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good place to kip down and recover from long haul flight. Large comfortable quiet room and helpful staff. Unexciting expensive restaurant. Expensive but reliable overall. Offers free bus tickets to city centre 30 mins away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from main road and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Stares,

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I only hope that you got to see our selection of "Casual Cuisine", we have a range of Lunch and Dinner items starting from $16.

The free bus tickets to the City are very popular and I am pleased that you got to take advantage of these.

Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed for one night and were happy with the room and the facilities. Food and beverages are quiet expensive and our dinner was disappointing especially given my meal cost $42. The hotel didn't end up charging for my meal, and apologized for the quality.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We ended up missing our flight and the staff were very helpful in sorting out another nights accommodation. We were able to check in early and they picked us up from the Airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denwah69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

On arriving into Christchurch airport we were picked up by Elliot who is a great guy who took us to the hotel. All the staff are really friendly and the girls on reception provided us with maps and driving tips for our onward journey. A free drink voucher is always a plus. The rooms are well equipped and the bar is a nice area with outdoor seating . If we ever flew into Christchurch again we would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,028 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £110 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing