We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great hotel with lots of facilities, 24 hr airport pick up that was quick and easy on the night (midnight collection with a 5 & 7 so we were very happy with this service!). The room was fantastic with comfortable beds and great bathroom facilities (although instruction on how to use the shower/bath single tap would have been helpful as we had never seen one like it before and at midnight after a very long flight from Perth our brains weren't quite up to working it out!). The restaurant provided decent meals at good prices and even had a kids menu.

The staff were all extremely helpful providing us with information, free bus passes and ordering taxis etc with a smile.

The only issue we found with our room is that the window/door into the balcony didn't seal well so each evening we could smell wood fire smoke in the room due to the heavy use of wood fires in the area.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaTreePink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    918
    381
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
318
548
75
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Came for a marathon and had a superb experience at a top hotel. The services and amenities were everything I needed and the bed was so comfortable I slept exceptionally well. Highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has a warmth and sincerity that evoke a homely feeling. The reception, concierge, bar & restaurant all exude a genuine service ethic, like they like what they do. Convenient to the airport & city, it's the best hotel I have stayed in for a long time.

Room Tip: The Rimu wing is especially good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Murray,
Thank you so much for endorsing the Commodore’s facilities and service.
We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is located very close to the airport but this is better than staying in Christchurch City Centre which was devastated by the earthquake and is still being rebuilt. It is also close to some of the attractions like the International Antarctic Centre, Rosebank Estate Winery & Restaurant and Wllowbank Wildlife Reserve.
Parking is available on site.
Wi-Fi is free and fast.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped.
The restaurant and bar serve a variety of good food and beverages.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurzinDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Bruzzin,
Thank you for your favorable comments, it means a great deal to us that you enjoyed your stay.
It certainly sounds like you had a good look around Christchurch.
We look forward to hosting you again.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is our third stay at the Copthorne. We had initially booked a Premium King room but received an upgrade to a King Business room which was a lovely touch at the end of our NZ stay.
The room was spacious despite our excess luggage, and well appointed. The bathroom has a large bath and shower with a glass divider between the room and the bathroom creating a feeling of even more space. Service was excellent with staff somehow immediately realizing we here having trouble with our bags even though we were parked a considerable way from reception . Breakfast at Patterson's restaurant was good with both buffet and menu options. There is a gym and swimming pool which we didn't use this time but were good on our last visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Momofan,

We are delighted that you enjoyed the final night of your New Zealand Holiday with us.

Please do come back again as there is more and more to see in Christchurch all the time.

Kind reegards
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

I spend 26 weeks a year in hotels and this by far has to be the best. They really pride themselves on service and going the extra mile. I would stay here anytime. Nothing is an issue for them. Really good top quality service like hotels used to be

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank arrong504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Arrong,

What a wonderful endorsement. We are a family owned and operated Business and comments like this really do mean a lot to us.

Yours sincerely

Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The service was exceptional, the room was clean and spacious and definitely the place to stay if you need a hotel close to the airport. The airport transfer was very efficient and I would definitely choose the Copthorne next time I have a late or early flight!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sven

Thank you for your positive comments.

Next time be sure and ask for a complimentray passon the "Mighty 29er" bus so that you can look over the city as well.

Kind regards

Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing