We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely meets expectations and more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the third time I have stayed at the Commodore Copthorne and each time I mean to write a review as I always come away a happy guest. All of the staff are incredibly helpful and bend over backwards to help. The rooms are clean, modern and I love the attention to detail.... great to see a hotel set up rooms to encourage recycling. Hopefully I will be able to stay for leisure some time and enjoy the facilities of the hotel. Thanks to the Commodore Copthorne team for another great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonya498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sonya,
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are so pleased that you enjoy the Commodore. It is good to hear that you appreciate the Recycling initiatives too.
When you do stay for leisure, be sure and pick up a complimentary Bus Pass for the “Mighty 29er” which runs every 30 minutes to the city.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

On arriving into Christchurch airport we called the hotel for the free transfer. Within minutes the minibus arrived. The great service that continued for our stay started at that point. Think our driver was call Elliott. He was so polite and helped us many times during our stay. Along with Sam. We used the gym, it was perfect for our needs. The room was a great size, exceptionally clean. We had dinner in the restaurant. Again great service, pleasant atmosphere. I was disappointed not to be offered a children's menu for my 10 year old and the food was good, but the menu was a little over ambitious for the chefs skills. That really is my only criticism of my stay. We had booked to stay at the hotel again at the end of our stay in the South Island. The hotel took us again in the courtesy bus to pick up our campervan. They kept our cases for us while we traveled in the van too. It was a perfect start to our time in the South Island. Thank you too all the team there.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LittleMissHolidayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Little Miss
Thank you for bothering to write a comment.
Elliot and Sam have both been recognized because of your commendation.
I am pleased you got to use the gym.
We have talked over the comment on not being offered the kids menu with the restaurant staff.
Be sure and come back to Christchurch again soon, there is even more to see in our “ever changing” city.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Here on business. The service was fantastic. My room was very comfortable and clean. I attended a two day conference held at the motel and the food and service to the conference was awesome. Thanks to the porters for their curtesy and willingness to go the extra mile to carry my bags and make checking in and out a breeze. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxxxH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Maxine,
Thank you for staying at the Commodore and then taking the time to comment on your stay.
I am pleased that your Conference went so well.
Our Portering team do a good job, good to hear that you though so as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th visit and it's another very enjoyable stay.The rooms are well presented with very comfy beds.Friendly,helpful staff.With an early flight, being so close to the airport makes travel hassle free.I highly recommend this Hotel and will return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Becker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Becker,
Thank you for your continued support of “The Commodore”. Great to hear that you enjoy our beds, in fact we sell at least one bed per month to our regular guests, should you be interested in a bed for home ask for either myself or my brother Thomas so we can tell you more.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night on arrival and one on departure. Both stays were comfortable with clean facilities and friendly staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. The bar is cozy. We wanted to eat where the locals dine and the hotel not only recommend a great restaurant but offered us a free shuttle ride to and from. Now that's customer service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotaryGal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Rotary Gal,
Thank you for staying with us, and then commenting on your stay.
I note that you found the bar to be cozy, I appreciated this comment as we recently installed a fire and some new furniture.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's two years since my last stay at this hotel and I am happy to say it is still as good as it was in 2012. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The bar and restaurant are great - big enough for their patrons but small enough to feel very friendly and warm. My room which was on the 2nd floor was clean and comfortable - only noise was from the other patrons who arrived late or left early but that is to be expected when you are staying at a hotel which caters so well for airport arrivals and departures. I arrived after midnight and phoned the hotel from the free phone at the airport and within a few minutes the shuttle was there ready to pick me up. The next morning they were happy to return me to the airport to pick up my rental car and then again when I left at 5am in the morning the shuttle took me back to the airport. The drivers were friendly and helpful - don't know that I would have been so friendly at that time of the day on a cold wet Christchurch morning but nothing ever seems to be a bother to the staff at this hotel. I congratulate the management on the ethos of great customer service they so obviously share with their staff. I spoke with a number of staff in different jobs from the shuttle drivers, receptionists, room attendants and restaurant staff and they were all polite and friendly. The staff at this hotel really make the difference. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QualityController_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Watch out for the surcharge if you pay by credit card. I stayed last weekend (6 & 7 June 2014) and got charged $9.54 to pay by credit card. This is 'de-marketing' especially when I received a voucher for a free drink for both nights I stayed there. The vouchers were worth about $20.

What marketing genius thought all that up?? Shame really as it's a good place to stay but this sort of stuff turns me off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niamh-Irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,899 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £105 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing