We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$185
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$127
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
US$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$106
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
US$167
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$112
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,580)
Filter reviews
1,580 results
Traveller rating
1,076
413
75
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
413
75
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness levelbusiness roompattersons restaurantdrink vouchersfree shuttlenew zealandon demandexcellent hotelshuttle servicenext morninglast nightsouth islandrental carcomfortable bedslong flightstayed one nightcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,580 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was the third time I have stayed at the Commodore Copthorne and each time I mean to write a review as I always come away a happy guest. All of the staff are incredibly helpful and bend over backwards to help. The rooms are clean, modern and I love the attention to detail.... great to see a hotel set up rooms to encourage recycling. Hopefully I will be able to stay for leisure some time and enjoy the facilities of the hotel. Thanks to the Commodore Copthorne team for another great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonya498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sonya,
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are so pleased that you enjoy the Commodore. It is good to hear that you appreciate the Recycling initiatives too.
When you do stay for leisure, be sure and pick up a complimentary Bus Pass for the “Mighty 29er” which runs every 30 minutes to the city.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

On arriving into Christchurch airport we called the hotel for the free transfer. Within minutes the minibus arrived. The great service that continued for our stay started at that point. Think our driver was call Elliott. He was so polite and helped us many times during our stay. Along with Sam. We used the gym, it was perfect for our needs. The room was a great size, exceptionally clean. We had dinner in the restaurant. Again great service, pleasant atmosphere. I was disappointed not to be offered a children's menu for my 10 year old and the food was good, but the menu was a little over ambitious for the chefs skills. That really is my only criticism of my stay. We had booked to stay at the hotel again at the end of our stay in the South Island. The hotel took us again in the courtesy bus to pick up our campervan. They kept our cases for us while we traveled in the van too. It was a perfect start to our time in the South Island. Thank you too all the team there.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank LittleMissHolidayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Little Miss
Thank you for bothering to write a comment.
Elliot and Sam have both been recognized because of your commendation.
I am pleased you got to use the gym.
We have talked over the comment on not being offered the kids menu with the restaurant staff.
Be sure and come back to Christchurch again soon, there is even more to see in our “ever changing” city.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Here on business. The service was fantastic. My room was very comfortable and clean. I attended a two day conference held at the motel and the food and service to the conference was awesome. Thanks to the porters for their curtesy and willingness to go the extra mile to carry my bags and make checking in and out a breeze. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxxxH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Maxine,
Thank you for staying at the Commodore and then taking the time to comment on your stay.
I am pleased that your Conference went so well.
Our Portering team do a good job, good to hear that you though so as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th visit and it's another very enjoyable stay.The rooms are well presented with very comfy beds.Friendly,helpful staff.With an early flight, being so close to the airport makes travel hassle free.I highly recommend this Hotel and will return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Becker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Becker,
Thank you for your continued support of “The Commodore”. Great to hear that you enjoy our beds, in fact we sell at least one bed per month to our regular guests, should you be interested in a bed for home ask for either myself or my brother Thomas so we can tell you more.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night on arrival and one on departure. Both stays were comfortable with clean facilities and friendly staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. The bar is cozy. We wanted to eat where the locals dine and the hotel not only recommend a great restaurant but offered us a free shuttle ride to and from. Now that's customer service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotaryGal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Rotary Gal,
Thank you for staying with us, and then commenting on your stay.
I note that you found the bar to be cozy, I appreciated this comment as we recently installed a fire and some new furniture.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews