We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our city treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
South Canterbury NZ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our city treat”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We live in Tekapo and decided we wanted a city treat. So we went to stay at the Commodore for three nights. We also had to pick up my Granddaughter from the airport in the early morning. Congratulations are stay was magic and beyond our expectations. We had a large corner corner room with two very comfortable beds, the decor was relaxing with a table and chairs over looking the gardens. We loved the swimming pool and spa and then a relaxing drink in the bar with its fire and large screen to watch the games. The staff could not have been more helpful and often attend to our needs before even being asked. Our driver Will could not have been more helpful taking us to airport and back. We also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, the food was excellent and the service beyond reproach. Thank you for a wonderful which was not our first I could not fault a thing at this wonderful hotel. Thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing, the corner suits are large and sunny. We experienced no traffic noise and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    384
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
320
558
75
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, have stayed here for the last ten years and it never fails , lovely food comfortable bed .. Also friendly with a free wine after work .. When arriving Kate at night around 1am was collected from airport all with a smile and no effort .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mitchwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

already a splendid pickup at the airport early in the morning with very very friendly staff, clean room, nice, good breakfast, nice bar, and again, very friendly and helpfull staff. One of the better hotels I have done in the last years. Congratulations

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A nice place to stay at after a long flight. Complimentary parking and a good place to base at before the long drive the next day.

Room was big and up to international standard.

There is a fireplace at the lounge and it's nice to have a drink there during a cold evening.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank trvkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the friendly staff- I have stayed here so many times and they are so consistently friendly that I feel compelled to write this brief report.
If you get a newly decorted room you will have nothing to complain about re the room standard, but please note there are still older rooms being let that have not been refurbished, and these are more basic.
The only criticism of this hotel is the WiFi system that is absurdly complicated to log onto. Why can Spainish hotels make it a breeze but in this hotel it's like you're executing a rocket launch! They are overdue to upgrade this and it really is frustrating to use.
Finally, the free service to the airport is very available and works so well.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A very enjoyable one-night escape from earthquake repairs. Warm and friendly service. A quiet, spacious, comfortable and well appointed room opening onto a small but very pleasant garden area. The dinner and breakfast were great, and it was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable escape..

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Booked for an overnight as daughter had that 6am flight next day and with winter frosts due felt it was the safest option.
We arrived to a very pleasant greeting, super service and offers of help for luggage from the car, great free parking an added bonus.
Room 2 Queen beds, comfortable.....bathroom good and shower very powerful for a wake up just have to watch how far the water flies around the curtain.
Had an evening snack in the comfortable Bar/Restaurant, prompt good service with a smile.....very yummie desserts and drinks at reasonable prices for an Airport Hotel.
Free shuttle to Airport plus on time wake up call - excellent checkout after my sleep in - will stay again :))

Room Tip: We had a back room facing a residential house with a nice lush garden as our view...fairly quiet on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing