We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Copthorne Hotel on our recent visit to NZ. We arrived at 12:30am at the airport and they provided us with a free shuttle service. We were greeted by a friendly staff member that was only to happy to provide us with this fantastic service. The staff could not do enough for us. They were all very friendly, accommodating and happy to always help. The Room was very clean and very comfortable, one of the best hotel beds that we have slept in. We would highly recommend staying at the Copthrone Hotel Commodore Christchurch.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kasiakevnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    370
    67
    7
    6
See reviews for
312
532
74
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

17 years ago I started traveling to Christchurch. After a process of elimination the Copthorne (Commodore) became the place to stay. Close to airport but not noisy. Free pickup and return from airport, great rooms that are updated regularly, great staff and food. Free Wifi, gym, pool. Not even an earthquake could shake its service. Is on main bus route into city with stop just out the front.

Room Tip: Level 3 for business people. Free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_B_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A nice old school country style hotel with on demand shuttle service to and from the airport just 2 minutes away. It's also just 15 minutes drive to the CBD that's being rebuilt.
Hotel also has very comfy bedding, super friendly staff and a great bar.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jf841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff at the Copthorne Hotel Commodore took great care of us at our recent conference. When our connecting flights to Christchurch were cancelled/postponed the staff set out all our information for us so that we could hit the ground running when we did arrive the next morning ... and they didn't charge for our rooms the night we couldn't get there.The food was lovely,catering ran very smoothly and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Sharon S,
Thank you for holding your Conference with us, I am pleased to hear that it went so well.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have been meaning to write a review for this hotel. I stayed here in March 2014. I wanted to find a hotel close to the airport as I had a long flight from Ireland-Vancouver-Christchurch. I stayed in a corporate room on the ground floor which was expensive but excellent. The beds were very comfortable, I liked the office space with wifi and they offered sky sports which was great when the rugby was on. Room service was good and staff were very friendly. I was a solo traveller and I must thank the manager Michael for his kindness in offering advice and generally pointing me in the right direction and went out of his way to make sure I enjoyed christchurch and even threw in the history of the place. The pick up from the airport was excellent as well. A family run hotel and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a corporate room on the ground floor for space and wifi. Good deals on booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
485 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Commodore seems to go from strength to strength. Our room was excellent and the Front desk staff were as helpful and welcoming as ever. Patterson's had a lively bar atmosphere while the food in the restaurant was of the usual very good quality. We met friends there and the super sociable vibe made for sparkling conversation and a fun evening ! The transfer back to the Airport was, pleasingly, a de luxe experience in the new van. The driver was incredibly polite and hepful. This young man's professionalism along with all the positive experiences listed above ensures that we will be back when we are next in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Try the comfortable Kowhai Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Whenever I am in Christchurch, I always stay at the Commodore. The staff always have a smile on their face and are always polite and helpful, no matter what your request or question.

The accommodation is comfortable and warm, especially in the winter months.

The gym and pool are wonderful. I love coming back after a long days work and hitting the spa and pool.

Convent location to the airport and Into the city.

Great place to stay for work

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing