We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and also tried other hotels. However no more, I am not staying anywhere else in the future. Fabulous spacious rooms, wonderful staff, great location. Courteous fast shuttle to and from the airport. For a third time we rented a car through the hotel car rental, "Touchdown". Excellent service and value. When we arrived there was a problem with the internet in our room. The staff acted immediately to try and fix the problem before Anthony the charming duty manager transferred us to two very comfortable Business rooms. We all slept like babies. Really, don't bother staying anywhere else. A really quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Sophie,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Anthony our Duty Manager is a "real asset" to the Commodore, and I will be sure that he sees your comments, I am pleased he was able to resolve the internet issue for you.
it is pleasing to note that you took advantage of one of our 'Touchdown Rentals", the minis we have are very cool and ideal for sight seeing around Christchurch.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    378
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
317
542
75
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stay at the Commodore every year for business. It's my go to place. I have stayed elsewhere, but the service and convenience can not be duplicated. It is a family run hotel whos staff goes above and beyond to meet a traveler's needs,whether it be business or pleasure. It is centrally located to enjoy the city of Christchurch (free bus), or to enjoy the surrounding wineries (Pegasus Bay and Torlesse are my faves), hot springs, near-by beaches (Brighton, Sumner, Taylor's mistake), or mountain hikes (Aurthor's Pass). A day or overnight trip to Akoroa is a must(take the backroads via Littleton on the way there). Breathtaking coastal views. I have never had a bad nights sleep or a bad meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a first story garden room. You can hang on the patio or leave the slider open to listen to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdmutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear New York Reviewer,
Thank you for giving us such high praise!
It is pleasing to hear from someone who not only enjoys staying at the Commodore but also takes in so much of what we have on offer around Canterbury!
We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I recently enjoyed 2 nights at this hotel. I decided to spring for one of the slightly more expensive business-level king rooms and it was so worth it. The room was extremely comfortable, wonderful bed, air-conditioning/heating easily controlled with a panel on the wall. The bathroom was very clean and well-appointed. The room was extremely quiet (despite some roadworks going on outside) and I had a very relaxing stay.

The hotel itself is very conveniently located - only a few minutes to the airport. It has a free shuttle to the airport which is quick, complimentary bus passes into the city, and they also have a Mini car available to be rented for the day. I took advantage of this and was able to explore lovely Akaroa.

Couldn't fault a thing about this stay and would highly recommend it. Worthy of its price.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Katy,
Thank you for reviewing the Commodore.
We are certainly very proud of our 'Business Level" and pleased you had the chance to experience all that these rooms offer.
Great to hear too, that you got to take a 'Touchdown Mini" through to Akaroa, they are just the perfect car for the twisty road.
We hope to have you stay again soon.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

For the equivalent price I can stay in the center of Paris and have a much better selection of restaurants. Whilst the service (except for the useless wifi) was good and the people polite this is not enough to mitigate the inflated prices for both the restaurant where they need to update the menu and the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven_M554451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Steven,
I am disappointed to hear that you thought we didn't provide good value. We did have a couple of days where our internet service wasn't working as it should have, and I am sorry if you were effected with this outage (which was effecting the whole neighbourhood).
Should you return to Christchurch please make contact with me in advance so that I may personally ensure your stay runs smoothly.
Yours sincerely
Michael patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This was just the warmest welcome into the country for four weary tourists. Beginning with the very prompt shuttle and extremely polite and helpful driver who dropped us off at the desk where two lovely people greeted us so warmly and enquired about our day. Our bags were taken to our room - the Peninsula room. The room was big enough for a family and absolutely spotless. We headed to the restaurant and had venison & salmon and kids meals and I have to say that they were the best meals we had in NZ (with some pretty stiff competition!) Again, couldn't fault the restaurant or the service - it was an extremely yummy, relaxing, pleasant meal. We had a restful night's sleep - very comfortable beds and pillows. The heated floor and towel rack in the bathroom was lovely!! Breakfast again, was amazing. The staff were so friendly and helpful with the kids. The only disappointment was that we had to leave - and that we weren't staying again. Loved the place and will definitely be back, for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJay015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Jay Jay,
Great to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.
It was heart warming to hear that you enjoyed our food so much.
We really do enjoy having families stay and were so pleased to hear that we added to your New Zealand experience.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We booked our last night in Christchurch at the Copthorne Hotel Commodore. Our friends recommended this as it is very close to the airport for an early morning departure. The staff are polite and very efficient. The service provided by the housekeeping department is second to none, Our chosen room was very spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank check29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Check,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Commodore.
Nice to know that you were recommended to stay by friends and noted was your positive comments on Housekeeping, they are a great team and really appreciate it when the work they do is noticed......I will be sure and tell them of your comments at morning tea tomorrow!
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobbleskill, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel delivers! I choose to stay here for any and every visit to Christchurch. Their hospitality is top shelf and they go very far b out of their way to accommodate you in any and everything. Clearly the owner and managers take time to educate the staff in every aspect of their profession. You will be in one of the most clean and comfortable r [ms availabe. It is no wonder that the Prime Minister stays here on visits to the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing