We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great airport location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

Arrived 8pm and after a long drive was thankful for a free coupon for a drink in the bar(wine for me, beer for hubby). Very friendly staff. Had to leave for a very early flight, so left the hotel before having too much of a look around. Nice room for family of 5. Only 5 minutes drive to the international airport which was the biggest plus at 4.30am . Definately would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Befle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    370
    67
    7
    6
See reviews for
312
532
74
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

Stayed overnight in this hotel with a late flight the next day. The hotel staff were amazing offering to drive us around in the courtesy bus both to and from the airport but also to the Antartic centre etc...

Their restaurant menu was pretty good - the evening menu covered a range of budgets which was great. I guess though that as a lunch venue I was a little disappointed to not have any sandwich options (BLT, burgers etc)... The service was really prompt and efficient in the restaurant and they went out an found us some biscuits when we came in for a coffee and wanted a little sweet snack to go with it (at no charge)

The room I was booked in was on the first floor and was quite well appointed even though I hadn't paid for an expensive room. It had a microwave in the room and a good sized bar fridge so I guess you could have prepared some basic food in the room if you wanted.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

The staff, service was excellent, especially the late night airport pick up & the check in staff.

Food was Good. Room very Good

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumMiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Nice big clean rooms, good value and in an excellent location for the airport. Hotel offers reception services and an airport shuttle 24 hours a day. Perfect for late/early arrival/departure times. No air traffic noise. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmn318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

This hotel is in a great location, not too far from the airport or city. Hotel provides free shuttles to/from the airport. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel to go into the city. The hotel also gave free bus passes. The rooms were very nice. I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kwein0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2009

Stayed one night recently and was very surprsied for an Airport Hotel. It still has many of the tired 80's looks of a Copthorne (brown old doors etc) but facilities are great and the business class rooms are outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

As a family of 4 we loved this hotel, great pool sauna and spa for an afternoons entertainment. The staff are lovely and the shuttle service to & from the airport is a huge plus. What a great service. It runs continually and you are only 3 mins or so from the airport. Great if you are booked on the red eye express as we were. The only thing I could pick on was the room service meal, menu not set up for kids or families. Far too gourmet. Stay here but order out if you have a family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skifunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#3 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 148 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing