We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Delta Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aarburg Airport Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airways Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Birches Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avonhead Garden Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,578)
Filter reviews
1,578 results
Traveller rating
1,074
413
75
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,074
413
75
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness levelbusiness roompattersons restaurantdrink vouchersfree shuttlenew zealandon demandexcellent hotelshuttle servicenext morninglast nightsouth islandrental carcomfortable bedslong flightstayed one nightcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,455 - 1,460 of 1,578 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We stayed at the Copthorne for one night after arrival in New Zealand. We arrived in the early hours of the morning. The hotel has a phone in the international arrival area. We contacted them and around 5 minutes later there was a minibus at the termnal to pick us up and take us to the hotel, Check in was quick, friendly and the driver took all our luggage to our room. The room was clean,modern and quiet. The furnishings all appeaed new. We had breakfast included. This was nothing spectacular, but the staff were friendly and very helpful. I am only disappointed that we did not get the chance to enjoy some of the hotels facilities. Overall an excellent experience and highly recommended,

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

The Copthorne Airport hotel is very convenient to the airport but yet far enough away not to be subject to the noise, hustle and bustle of the airport. Our bedroom was warm and comfortable and all that you would expect from a four star hotel. We also had an opportunity to look into one of their executive rooms. They were bright, spacious and contemporary, very impressive indeed and were right up to five star hotel standards. Next time we will definitely book one of these rooms!

We had one small problem in the early part of our stay but the speed and manner in which it was addressed by the management was truly remarkable and everything was done to make sure that our stay was exceptional. It was easy to see that this is a family run hotel and their attention to detail, their focus on customer service and their friendliness left us with one of the best hotel experiences which we had in our fifteen week trip around the world.

While we didn’t take a dip, there is a good-sized swimming pool as well as a fitness centre for those with more energy than we had. Car parking is free and the trip into the centre of Christchurch is just over a ten-minute drive. However, the hotel provided free bus passes to the city centre and the bus stop is just across the road from the hotel. We found this much better than trying to find a car park in a strange city.

Overall we found this one of the most appealing hotels which we stayed in during our trip. This was in no small way to the responsiveness of the management, the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeacatIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I can't comment on too many of the amenities at this hotel as I arrived having travelled around the south island very poorly, but what I can tell you is what a relief it was to arrive at this wonderful hotel, The staff were fantastic from the welcoming reception, to the guys who ferried me to the doctors and pharmacy and also the room staff who helped me with extra tissues, loo rolls etc. I also left some clothes at the hotel when I left and these were sent by courier to me immediately. The hotel was lovely, the rooms spotless
I would recommend this hotel to anyone - don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanti_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Thankyou to TA without which I would not have uncovered this gem of a hotel. We were tired after our late night arrival to Christchurch, and the smiling faces, crisp sheets, quiet environment and superb breakfast combined to give a very positive introduction to New Zealand. I would stay here again without thinking twice and - even though our cheapest room was excellent - would next time seriously consider upgrading to one of the truly fabulous rooms in the new wing just for the luxury. We had a quick peak and these rooms are superb.
This big hotel is spotlessly clean, family run and well deserves its high position on Trip Advisor . It really does tick all the boxes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JourneyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

This hotel is in an excellent position and the staff are well trained. Nothing was too much trouble. It was our grand daughter's birthday and they went out for a cake for her so we could have a surprise celebration at Dinner. Shuttle to the airport was very prompt and the driver friendly. Our room was clean as were all the areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews