We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, try this one today”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
tga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, try this one today”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

To Thomas Patterson and his team at the Commodore.
I wanted to pass on our thanks to you and your team for the unexpected nights accommodation and dinner we had compliments of Jetstar. (cancelled flight)
From the moment we arrived to the time of our departure the next morning, I was blown away by the superior service you and your staff showed to us. It was obviously a really full night for you and I cannot speak too highly about the professionalism and friendly service we encountered. Your staff were easy to interact with, nothing was too much trouble and in a lovely kiwi way they excelled.
Other details noticed were the artwork and photos around the hotel - maps of the complex, understated and tasteful decor, restaurant furnishings, layout and menu design and covers. The meal itself was divine and although dessert was unnecessary it was sublime. The menu covered all bases but wasnt crowded! The meals themselves arrived in good time on warm plates with faultless taste and visuals!
Great work chef and kitchen staff. Anna our lovely waitress is a credit to your team.
Wonderful! I would be happy to recommend the Commodore to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TgaSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    946
    384
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
323
560
75
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2010

While this hotel was not in the heart of Christchurch it was close to shops and the airport. Transfers to and from the airport, including places within close proximity to the hotel were free. Service at reception was fantastic, they went above and beyond. Hotel room facilities were above my expectations. Breakfast in the restaurant was also great including the service. The only negative was the service we received from one male bar tender at the bar who I would not describe as friendly or pleasant. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaygoerGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This was our second stay at the Copthorne Christchurch. Our first was great but the food for the children wasnt suitable. This year they certainly picked up the ball with a great kids menu and good stuff on it like steamed vegies etc. Im tired of the usual kids menu that offers burgers, fish fingers or nuggets with chips....thats ok once a week but we eat out every night on holidays and kids need more nutrition than that...well done Copthorne, you were the only place in NZ that offered the children a healthy meal. The room was lovely, the staff were nice and that pool, spa and sauna is an excellent way to wind up the holiday before flying home! This is by far the best hotel in Christchurch! John & Sharee. Sydney Australia.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skifunSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We used the hotel as a convenient location close to airport and our meeting location. Only 5 minutes from the airport and close to main road yet not too close to cause a noise problem. We had a rental car but the hotel does provide a good shuttle service. Friendly and professional staff.
Remember to keep your room card on you at all times - they do lock the doors to the accommodation block at night for your security and you can only get in with the card - not that I thought New Zealand required that level of security.
Hotel is showing it age - 40 year old design with some signs of refubishment in the last 5 - 6 years. Make sure you check the surrounding gardens - well maintained.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelsontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaeljane, Front Office Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, 9 August 2010
Thank you for your comments.

The hotel takes the safety and security of our guests very seriously and I do agree that it should not be necessary for the external doors to be locked after hours. Unfortunately not every country is as safe as New Zealand and the restricted after hours access is an expectation from many of our international visitors. Providing the Credit card sized room key is kept with them, all of our guests enjoy 24 hour unrestricted access through any of the external doors of the hotel and the entire hotel can be accessed using the internal corridors.

Since opening in the early 1970's the hotel has undergone many significant upgrades, and the addition of the 5 star business level was completed in late 2005.
We are currently assessing the next area of the hotel to undergo refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Front desk duty manager was very friendly and helpful and service in all areas was prompt conveniently located close to airport with free shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I would definitely recommend this hotel. My husband and I stayed there on the last night of our honeymoon, and it truly was amazing! After two weeks travelling around the South Island in a campervan we were looking forward to a few "home comforts" before we embarked on our 32 hour trip home, and boy did it deliver! We were given a beautiful suite, with a patio to sit outside, the room was HUGE, so spacious and comfortable. We had a delicious meal in the hotel restaurant followed by a complimentary drink at the bar. The next morning the hotel organised our lift to the hotel at no additional charge. The staff were super friendly and helpful. It was the perfect end to an amazing honeymoon, really hope we can go back sometime soon!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weeraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I was blown away by the service, from pick up at the airport to check in and check out.
we were even given free cocktails which we all enjoyed.the room was very spacious, with a garden.the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The heated pools, suana and Gym were excellent. my kids loved it and wanted us to extend our stay. enjoyed the free bus pass to the city. drop off at the airport in early hours was very handy. we will definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReenKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing