We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't get what you pay for...YOU GET MORE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2010

What an absolutely delightful experience; from checking in to when waving the courtesy bus goodbye at the airport. The only thing I'd change about my stay at the Commodore would be that I'd stay longer because the whole team do a marvellous job looking after clients.

I chose the Commodore mainly because I had an early flight and wanted to be close to the airport but didn't want to stay in a crappy hotel. However, I do not consider the price I paid for my room high - considering my entire stay it was incredible value for money for this very delighted traveller!

The room - exceeded my expectations.
Spacious and clean with an oh-so-comfortable bed and accessible bathroom (for those travellers with wheelchairs or special needs). A lovely (huge!) wide screen TV with so many channels to choose from, which made a nice change from the Sky channels found in Accor hotels. I enjoyed a very comfortable sleep after a relaxing soak in that wonderful bath tub (long and deep - great for those with long legs!). I loved the walk to my room, the hallway was elegant and the artwork on the walls (photos around NZ) were very tasteful.

The restaurant
Great menu, chef, and bar/wait staff. Only too happy to accommodate any special requests PLUS you get a free drink voucher upon check-in (how good is that?!). Has an inviting atmosphere that makes me wish I could organise a party or two there (sadly, I live in Australia so an after-work function might be slightly tricky). Conveniently located just past the front desk, nice and close but far enough away from your room so you're not disturbed. I highly recommend the pizzas and orange/mandarin chilled souffle from the restaurant!! The outdoor dining will be lovely once it's completed.

The staff
My experiences with the front desk, porters, restaurant, and shuttle bus driver were classic of the service you'll receive in NZ...they know how to look after guests. However, the Commodore crew just seemed exceptional. They were genuinely charming and I'd give them all gold medals if they were competing in the NZ Hospitality Olympics.

Other amenities
The pool, that glorious pool. Go for a swim...just do it. Covered and clean, it was a delight to go for a paddle in the heated water.

This hotel would clearly appeal to the business traveller or to companies looking for a venue to hold an out-of-town conference, it doesn't have the stark standardised feel that other business hotels fall victim to. The whole place is simply elegant and is a lovely place to stop over or to base yourself if you prefer to be away from the city heart - the airport is nice and close, Riccarton Westfield, etc. Guests receive a free bus ticket into the city HOWEVER, there is lovely (free) shuttle bus that is only too happy to take you to a number of places nearby.

The Commodore just has so much going for it. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am confident anyone else booking will enjoy their experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkabout09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
There are newer reviews for Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,247 - 1,253 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

We stayed here for one night on a recent trip to the South Island of New Zealand. We arrived at 1.30am so we just needed somewhere to stay for the night which was close to the airport. On arrival at the airport we phoned the hotel on the courtesy phone in the airport and they were there within minutes to pick us up - another couple of minutes and we were checking in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and offered to take our bags. We just wanted to sleep!! We had two single beds which was unfortunate, but when I arrived home I found a message on my answering machine from the hotel asking if we would like queen or single beds. It wasn't a problem for us, as we were literally sleeping and getting up and going early.
The beds were comfortable, the room was very quiet. The bathroom was adequate. It's not close to the city centre but if you're after somewhere near the airport this is the spot.
In the morning we had breakfast which was included in our Wotif.com deal. Have to say it was very average and wouldn't have been happy had we paid for it.
Check out was a breeze and another transfer to the airport within minutes. Very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antsuz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed in the Copthorne for 1 night after arriving in the middle of the night on a flight from Australia. The service was excellent. When we arrived at the airport at 0200, we called the free hotel shuttle which arrived within 5 minutes. The check-in went really quickly and smoothly and the staff helped us with our luggage. The room was huge and we slept like babies as the beds were so comfortable. We were also given complimentary free WiFi and a late check-out. All in all we found the hotel and service excellent. This is the perfect hotel if you need a hotel close to the airport after a late flight or for an early departure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We had an early morning flight back to Melbourne and this was the perfect place to stay the night before. Staff were very helpful and courteous and the Premier room was very nicely decorated and looked out to the garden. It was also very quiet - no TV noise from the rooms next door or above. Received two free drink vouchers at the restaurant which served an excellent meal. Would highly recommend for those with a need to stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl-From-Oz-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Nice, clean, well maintained hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Courtesy bus to and from the airport. Rooms spacious, clean, well equipped and no external noise noticed. Food very good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubarStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Perfect hotel, would stay there again. Staff are polite and very helpful. Hotel is very clean, has spacious rooms with all amenities, stocked bar fridge, sky tv etc. Ordered room service, very effiecent and food was hot and tasted great. Try the Chataman islands blue cod or the lamb shank....beautiful
Reception is very helpful, If traveling into town request a bus pass at recepton. This is usually given free of charge and you can use to explore christchurch. Restaurant and bar is great place to unwind. As with most hotel in NZ the lack of airconditioning in rooms is a problem in summer or with a warm dry norwester blowing, rooms can be quite warm during the day.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbumAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

My wife and I were very impressed with every aspect of service and attention to detail. Staff were only to willing to accommodate requests and did so with a minimum of fuss. I have already recommended the Copthorne to our friends and will be staying again when we return to NZ.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,899 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £105 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing