We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I was warmly welcomed by reception even though it was past midnight. The hotel was very clean and well appointed. Great meals.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kermit025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at then end of a two week trip around the south island. They could not do enough for us. free drink vouchers on check-in, the shuttle bus that will take you to the local mall, the antarctic centre the airport and these places will then call the hotel and they will come and get you to go back to hotel as well. Excellent staff = nothing was too much trouble. Well done

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

This is a good airport hotel but isn't really somewhere i would choose to stay unless i was taking a flight. The hotel is well located and the rooms comfortable. The food is not particularly good value but the portions are huge so you could probably get away with sharing a portion between two! We had requested a quiet room so were surprised to receive a room next to the building work going on on the terrace! However, the staff are very polite and friendly and the on demand shuttle service to the airport was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albiejnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

my fiance and I stayed at this property for 1 night last month. We booked this property as it was close to the airport/car rental facilities, and we were arriving around 10pm that night and heading out at 7pm the next morning. The purpose of this hotel was just to catch some zzzs, however it ended up being one of the most enjoyable and relaxing evenings on our trip!

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to one of their suites - which was GIGANTIC. It had a separate living/dining space from the bedroom, large bathroom with a spa tub and shower and dressing area. The room also came with a stocked kitchen area and complimentary bottle of wine.

Needless to say, it was amazing after a long day/flight to kick back in such a great room. The staff at the property was very polite/helpful (someone walked us to our room even after we said it wasn't necessary). The location is also great in location to the airport. We didn't have breakfast there in the morning, however the restaurant area was quite busy (as it was the bar area the night before).

Overall, a great stay! We weren't counting on much being close to an airport and labeled as an "airport hotel", and we were highly impressed. Would recommend this property for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We stayed a total of 11 nights over two stays in October/November. We've been staying here since 1995 and wouldn't go anywhere else. The Busines Level rooms are well worth the extra cost. Cleanliness, friendliness and service are superb throughout. Beautifully kept award-winning grounds. So convenient for the airport and ring road, yet very quiet. And free bus tickets take you into the city.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

After much investigation on TripAdvisor before hand, stayed here for three nights in mid-November, we particularly loved the buffet breakfast, easily best of our two week stay in New Zealand, evening meals were good but perhaps not as good as the breakfast. The room was clean, practical and well designed and the beds were comfortable, as with many hotels someone needs to invent a door which closes quietly as other doors closing could be heard, but really not a big issue. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Overall would definitely recommend and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

What an absolutely delightful experience; from checking in to when waving the courtesy bus goodbye at the airport. The only thing I'd change about my stay at the Commodore would be that I'd stay longer because the whole team do a marvellous job looking after clients.

I chose the Commodore mainly because I had an early flight and wanted to be close to the airport but didn't want to stay in a crappy hotel. However, I do not consider the price I paid for my room high - considering my entire stay it was incredible value for money for this very delighted traveller!

The room - exceeded my expectations.
Spacious and clean with an oh-so-comfortable bed and accessible bathroom (for those travellers with wheelchairs or special needs). A lovely (huge!) wide screen TV with so many channels to choose from, which made a nice change from the Sky channels found in Accor hotels. I enjoyed a very comfortable sleep after a relaxing soak in that wonderful bath tub (long and deep - great for those with long legs!). I loved the walk to my room, the hallway was elegant and the artwork on the walls (photos around NZ) were very tasteful.

The restaurant
Great menu, chef, and bar/wait staff. Only too happy to accommodate any special requests PLUS you get a free drink voucher upon check-in (how good is that?!). Has an inviting atmosphere that makes me wish I could organise a party or two there (sadly, I live in Australia so an after-work function might be slightly tricky). Conveniently located just past the front desk, nice and close but far enough away from your room so you're not disturbed. I highly recommend the pizzas and orange/mandarin chilled souffle from the restaurant!! The outdoor dining will be lovely once it's completed.

The staff
My experiences with the front desk, porters, restaurant, and shuttle bus driver were classic of the service you'll receive in NZ...they know how to look after guests. However, the Commodore crew just seemed exceptional. They were genuinely charming and I'd give them all gold medals if they were competing in the NZ Hospitality Olympics.

Other amenities
The pool, that glorious pool. Go for a swim...just do it. Covered and clean, it was a delight to go for a paddle in the heated water.

This hotel would clearly appeal to the business traveller or to companies looking for a venue to hold an out-of-town conference, it doesn't have the stark standardised feel that other business hotels fall victim to. The whole place is simply elegant and is a lovely place to stop over or to base yourself if you prefer to be away from the city heart - the airport is nice and close, Riccarton Westfield, etc. Guests receive a free bus ticket into the city HOWEVER, there is lovely (free) shuttle bus that is only too happy to take you to a number of places nearby.

The Commodore just has so much going for it. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am confident anyone else booking will enjoy their experience.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkabout09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,986 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £113 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TravelClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing