We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, lovely owners and great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Central Motel Apartments
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We booked this through the Internet after checking out the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were very impressed. Taxi driver knew it before we gave the full address. Room good size, well equipped kitchen and nice clean bathroom. Laundry facilities on ground floor, clean and easy to use. Very relaxed atmosphere. The owners were lovely and organised pick up for the train and kept a room for our return to Christchurch. Easy walk to city centre and will be even easier once more of the CBD is opened up after the earthquake. Easy walk to supermarket, cafes and restaurants. Lots of choice on TV ( best we've had so far on our trip). On a busy intersection, but the double glazing keeps the noise out very well.

Room Tip: Room upstairs looking on to the deck area gets most shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

While I checked in my children accidentally locked my car keys in the car. It was no hassle at all for Chris from CCmotel to help me out and organise for the AA to come out.
The rooms were spacious and very clean with good equipment for self catering.
As a family of 4 we were given 2 rooms with a connecting door.
Easy walking distance to city centre.
Very happy and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alringrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I booked this through the Internet and pics were not as we found on arrival. I made to separate bookings and that seem to confuse the girl when we checked in. Also they had us booked into 2 separate rooms?.?.?.

Their we're no pillow cases on arrival the sky remote did not work there were no tissues in the bathroom on arrival which were replaced on the next day. The women in reception was quite rude when I rang about the Internet.

Basically for $272 per night you would expect better than this

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Nighthound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Good rooms and easy to find. A bit of a way out of the city but that is the local problem after the earthquake. Plenty parking. Rooms were immaculate and beds very comfie. The owners a very helpfull and friendly even to the point of doing some laundry for us and returning it to our room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindar2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Two times we have spent one night in the city central motel. At the beginning and end of our NZ vacation. Both times were great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. First time we stayed in separate rooms,the last stay in the apartment. Both were very clean, modern and we had a comfortable night. City centre is in walking distance, altough much has been destroyed due to the eart quake. Next time NZ we will be happy to stay there again.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Apartment was spacious and clean. The family unit suited our requirements of having 2 bathrooms and enough bedding for 5. Chris is prompt with his email replies. My only grouse is that I was given the impression that wifi is free but upon check in, realized it was free for only an hour. It was also communicated via email that we can use the laundry washer and dryer near the reception for free. After check in, I noted there were signs above the washer that there are (token) charges. We did not ask as it was our last night in NZ & we were flying off home the next day.
There is a Subway outlet right next to the motel where we had a meal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g0_f0r_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The room was spacious and clean, only a couple of blocks from the city. The owners were helpful and friendly and gave excellent tips for dinner and breakfast. Their was also help with travel advice including providing a map, parking was easy and off street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
2,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
164 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#9 of 140 in Christchurch
31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cashel Court Motel
Cashel Court Motel
#102 of 146 in Christchurch
8 reviews
0.9 mi away
136 On Bealey Motel
136 On Bealey Motel
#85 of 146 in Christchurch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Motel Apartments

Address: 252 Barbadoes Street | Christchurch Central, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £64 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Central Motel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 26 stylish, self contained and well appointed quality apartments catering for the corporate traveler, couples and families.City Central Motel Apartments are within 5-7 mins walk of local attractions and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Central Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
City Central Hotel Apartments
City Central Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing