We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grubby. In need of a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square
Ranked #113 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed 24 August 2007

Whilst the bathroom was modern and very clean, the bedroom was very dated and the carpet was filthy. You could not walk to the bathroom without shoes. The location was very central but the downside to that was the noise in the early mornings when the street cleaners arrived around 0530. The restaurant downstairs was good and reasonably priced. However, because of the state of the room decor, I would not reccommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamalula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2007

I need a nice hotel located near cathedral square, as I was catching Newman's sightseeing bus @ 6:45am to go to Queenstown and got into the Christchurch airport @ 1:30am. The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the buses. It was centrally located with easy access to everything. When reaching the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised at the location. The room itself as very basic. I had everything I needed for the short time I was there. The staff was very friendly, and very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank makawaobadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2007

I paid $95 as a solo traveller. The room was large and clean and in an awesome location right on Cathedral Sq. Bathroom was big and although the room was a little dated and in need of renovations, the value this place represented was too good to be true. Only annoying thing was that my three-night stay coincided with a huge contingent of American college students on a break here. They were really behaved though, just noisy, but no problem. next time I'm in Christchurch I wouldn't hesitate to stay here. At NZ$95, which converted to about AUS$80, it was as good as I could have hoped for. Oh, there's a really good pizza place right downstairs, and an OK Indian restaurant next door.

Stayed: June 2006
1  Thank puntrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

We arrived for a couple of nights on-route to Queenstown. Public parking in the area is difficult, but the hotel took care of our rental car for a nominal fee. The decor was a little dated. The room was spacious (two double beds). The bathroom was spacious and quite clean... water pressure was good, which is something I always appreciate. Location was central with food and shopping only a short stroll.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank F-word
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2006

This is a good hotel in the centre of Christchurch. It has a friendly feel and our room was a good size with a nice en suite bathroom. We were also fortunate to get a room with a view over the square and the cathedral.

The only down side is that it is popular with coach tours and the hotels own restaurant can easily get full very quickly. This is not reallya problem as there are tons of other places to eat in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2006

My stay in this hotel was alright. The hotel was quiet. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was nice but the shower spray could be improved. The staff was efficient. Could watch Sky Movies. Good central location. Would probably return.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gorgota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, Washington, USA
25
Reviewed 7 October 2005

I suppose you really do get what you pay for at this hotel. When my travel companions and I came into Christchurch, our horrific hotel experience began with the fact that there is nowhere to park and there are no valet services readily offered to help you with the situation. When we finally got up to our room, the sheets didn't seem very clean, the bed wasn't made very nicely, and it was freezing cold. There were stains on the carpet that looked not good, there were huge nicks taken out of the paint on the wall, and we were given one queen sized bed for all three adult travelers, even after we had made reservations and made it clear there were three of us. We had planned on staying in Christchurch for 2 days. We stayed for 4 hours. This hotel just does not make a good impression. We even considered asking if there was any space at the hostel next door, which appeared to be light years cleaner.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel 115 Christchurch
Hotel 115 Christchurch
#39 of 146 in Christchurch
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Classic Villa
The Classic Villa
#28 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square

Address: 66 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: £62 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flag Hotel Camelot Cathedral Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing