We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great reception”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Overall great hotel. The receptionist Hannah certainly made an impression, she was extremely friendly and attentive and really brightened up our morning! It is nice to interact with such lovely staff on the reception.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to have great staff here who really value your stay and I will certainly be passing on your post to Hannah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Booked this hotel for our wedding night when checking on our booking in person the duty manager kindly ungraded us which we thought was great. However on the night on checking in dressed in my wedding dress and my husband dressed in his suit the fron desk person but have been half asleep because he completely didnt notice our attire and merely checked us in without hardly saying a word and nothing at all about the fact it was our wedding day which was disappointing. Our room was pleasant enough however, a bottle of bubbly or a chocolate on the pillow would have been a nice touch. Would we reccommened this for a special occassion "NO".

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Congratulations on your marriage.

I do apologise that you felt our Front Office staff did not acknowledge your day and I have spoken to the staff member who checked you in who has apologised he did not make you feel special on check in and that was certainly not his intention.

I am glad that we were able to offer you a free of charge upgrade and do hope you enjoyed your night here.

We have discussed this here as a team and you have prompted us to create a policy for situations such as this or other 'special occasions'. It is great to receive feedback to help us to achieve excellence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Good location close to the casino and sadly what is left of the city center. The hotel is very nice with all amenities you would need. We stayed in one of the apartments and found it to be a little small to be shared with another couple. The single bathroom was very cramped making it very uncomfortable. Dinner was ok but would not go back again. I am sure that would be better accommodation available elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We appreciate your feedback and would like to point out that our 2 bedroom units do vary in size. When guests are staying one night only the room provided may be smaller than if you were to be staying for a longer period of time.

We do hope that if you return to Christchurch that you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed after long haul flight. Arrived after mid-night. The night manager rustled up some soup. Much appreciated. Had a late checkout arranged. On the dot about 6 people arrived to clean room while we tried to get packed & put if room. Seemed a but over the top although we appreciated the late checkout. A long haul with several bags down stairs. Parking at night was impossible. Parked on the roadside. So a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doctorjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to be able to offer our customers 24 hour service for times such as arriving late at night after long haul travelling etc.

In addition it is also great to be able to offer late checkout at no extra charge and we always do our best to accommodate this. On the day that you had your late checkout with regards to the staff arriving all at once, I can only guess that we required your room on that same evening and there was perhaps the next guest arriving to come into the same room as we are very heavily booked at this time.

Parking is not normally an issue, however once again due to the high occupancy and the late arrival you experienced a problem that would not normally occur and we do apologise.

I do hope that you will choose stay with us again should you return to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I flew into christchurch and my staff had me booked 50 mile away by mistake. The staff at the pavillion after they got done laughing were very accommodating. The rooms were great the food and drink at Jimmys bar were wonderful. Its close proximity to everything makes this hotel a great place to stay. PS buy the owners book its a great read.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewF104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return to stay with us again in the future. It is also great to have some feedback on the Owner's book - it certainly makes interesting reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I were not staying at Pavillions but found Jimmys Bar and Cafe to be a little gem. Very friendly staff made us welcome and when we returned another night for dinner we were very impressed by the quality of food,. Should be called Jimmys Bar and Restaurant as this is no cafe quality food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you taking the time to review our bar and restaurant. We appreciate your comments, as we believe our food is pretty special too and often receive great feedback from our customers. I do hope that next time you in Christchurch you will choose to stay with us also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Pavilions works with the US Antarctic Program and as such has do deal with a lot of very different people who are either celebrating before leaving for Antarctica, or celebrating because they just got back. Our flights always come in late and the hotel is happy to cook for tired and hungry guests such as us. Nice rooms, friendly people, good location!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbeard1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We enjoyed working with Raytheon and the US Antartic Program this year. There certainly is a wide range of people. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to working with you all again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,060 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
3.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £74 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing