We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilions Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Camelot Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashford Motor Lodge(Christchurch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adelphi Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Carlton Mill(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Court Motel(Christchurch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
316
246
117
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
316
246
117
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjimmy's barfamily historypapanui roadmain buildingnew zealandspa bathbuffet breakfastfantastic staycity centrethe ground floorroom was largewould stay againhagley parksouth islandgreat place to stayhome away from homebotanic gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay and from our experience can only highly recommend the Pavilions Hotel. The staff are fantastic with no request ever being a problem. Our room was on the ground floor and had most everything you could want, a small fridge, an iron and ironing board and a small kitchenette. It did lack a room safe but this was easily managed by lodging any valuables at the reception desk which was open 24hrs. We had an executive spa suite but needed to go to reception to ask for a 'bath bomb' to put in the spa as there was no bubble bath or similar in the room to use. There was no air conditioning or a fan which meant leaving the front door open to get some air circulation. This was a little off putting when cars were parked up close to your front door. The meals in Jimmy's Bar were excellent and at the end of a day touring around Christchurch, a cold beer and either the hot or cold platter were a perfect end of the day. Considering the amount of accommodation available 2 years after the devastating earthquake, we consider ourselves fortunate to have had a great place to stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If we ever had the opportunity to visit New Zealand again we would choose to stay at the Pavilions Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prospector3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive feedback. Again our staff are always mentioned and we do pride ourselves on offering the best service we can in all cases. Its great that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar also. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A motel style hotel on the outskirts of Christchurch. The rooms are arranged in blocks on two floors. Large rooms with a double and a single bed. Basically furnished. Tea and coffee making facilities, an iron, and a small fridge are provided, but no in room safe. There is no air conditioning but there is a fan heater in the room.

A basic bathroom but for a one night stay is adequate.

The staff were friendly a and helpful.

There are no local restaurants so you may have no alternative but to eat at the hotel. The food was just ok with limited choice. The breakfast was a good cooked choice but limited continental style. The toasters just did not work.

The hotel usually charge for Wifi but on our visits the service was free but unreliable.

Given the problems in Christchurch this hotel is adequate for a short stay.

We had a second stay in this hotel the room on the second occasion was a bit grim and needed refurbishment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

When you next come please ensure you take the time to speak to our reception staff with regards to local restaurants. We would be one of the few hotels in Christchurch with many different types of restaurants all within a 10 minute walk, a number which are only 2 minute walk.

It is the first time we have had feedback stating our menu is limited. In fact, if you were to go back on reviews on this site you will see how many people state the food is fantastic. I am wondering if you ordered outside restaurant hours and only had the 24 hour snack menu which is slightly limited, but still very fulfilling for its purposes all the same.

A 'motel' does not have a bar or restaurant. The fact that we are not multi-storey is an advantage in Christchurch and most think of this as positive.

Our WIFI is system is currently being upgraded to a state of art system which will be in place by March 2013.

I am also very glad you noticed our friendly staff and helpfulness its great that their services are clearly noticed.

As you have pointed out, yes we have many room types - perhaps when next booking your preference would be for a Superior or Exectuive room. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Have just returned from Christchurch on a bowling weekend and must say that in my opinion the Pavilion provided the best group accommodation we have experienced on our many NZ bowling trips. The units were very clean and well maintained. Without exception the staff were all very friendly, helpful and had great senses of humour (an asset when dealing with a motley crew of 32 people). The food was of a good standard and reasonable priced. Thank you to all for adding to an enjoyable weekend. I will be back.

Room Tip: No suitable for those wanting to self caterer
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJDHavelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is consistent with our other positive feed back - clean rooms, great staff and great food!

Its nice that you took the time to comment and we look forward to you all coming to stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed at Pavillions for business. Over priced at $240 per night plus breakfast at $27 which is held in a very small restaurant. Staff are friendly. The rooms are large and recently renovated but still average looking. My room was against the main road which meant traffic noise. Small kitchenette was available.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the main road.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LegItAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thank you for posting a response on our hotel.

Our rates are competitive with the current market in Christchurch as accommodation is quite tight here at this time.

I am glad you enjoyed our large rooms and friendly staff as well as having the benefit of a kitchenette in their room.

We look foward with you staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I am a regular guest in this hotel and I cannot recommend it more highly.

From the very friendly staff to the location it makes staying there an enjoyable and relaxing experience.

Christchurch has been badly affected by the earthquake and accommodation is difficult to find but I know I can always rely on the Pavilions to fit me in even when they are booked to the maximum. The rooms are very comfortable with nice soft beds; big flat screen TV’s, free Wi-Fi and a great bar (sometimes with live entertainment) .The Free parking is great. The restaurant serves really great food.

Some rooms have spa baths which I enjoy.

This hotel is privately owned and the family owners are always on hand to have a chat and laugh with the guests.

Just a short walk to town or the Casino

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1811027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thank you for your fantastic feedback on our hotel.

The location is fantastic as you say, many of our guests comment on the comfort of our beds due to the special underlays to help with extra comfort. Free parking and WIFI is a benefit enjoyed by all our guests.

Our restaurant does deliver first class food and you will see in comments that many agree.

We enjoy our regular corporates and really appreciate the business.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews