We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant very good but hotel could do with a lift to the second floor.”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Halesowen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restaurant very good but hotel could do with a lift to the second floor.”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We ate in the hotel restaurant here and found the staff very friendly and the food very good and for a hotel surprisingly reasonably priced. Would eat here again.
However we had been travelling several weeks so had heavy luggage which was a problem getting to our room on the second floor as there was no lift. The porter was helpful though so small niggly problem really. The only other comment have is that they did not offer decaff coffee in the room which when you are sensitive to caffine and have to get sleep as have to get up in the middle of the night for a flight was annoying. Reception staff very friendly too.
Wish all of them well with recovery from the earthquake. It must be so difficult to continue to be positive three years down the line and still little seems to have been done with rebuild.

Room Tip: Accept disability room if available - ground floor so less problems with suitcase carrying and lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalesowenMorticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Thank you for commenting on our fantastic food and staff - it seems to be a very common theme on Trip Advisor and it is very pleasing to see we are getting the results we strive for.

With regards to Decafe coffee, had you called reception we would of delivered some immediatley so I am sorry such a small issue could easily have been avoided.

In addition I am glad our porters were able to assist you with your luggage as it then generally does not create an issue for second floor as you state.

I do hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    188
    102
    34
    19
See reviews for
138
204
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Pavilions Hotel for our 2 day conference. Very good service and friendly staff. Dinner was great and good atmosphere in the bar for the drinks after dinner. Room is much better than last time I stayed here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thanks for posting postive response to our hotel, I do hope your conference went well.

Our continued feedback on staff and restaurant food is fantastic to see.

I am also pleased to hear you enjoyed your room.

Look forward to your next conference and/or stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I don't recognize these pic as the hotel where we stayed. we had a room on ground floor.-small but adequate. this must be in the old building as nothing looked updated. we had a chair out our door that was considered our patio.--adequate. we stayed one night. I realize the earthquake has caused a shortage of places to stay and the devastation is seen just walking around Christchurch.
The staff was delightful and the restaurant was excellent and very accommodating. It looked better on the outside than the inside(our room anyway).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsy-by-trade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank for taking the time to post your feedback.

We have many different roomtypes, perhaps on your next stay you could look at booking either a Superior or Executive room.

Its nice to see the continued great responses about our staff and restaurant, I am glad you enjoyed them.

Look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I stayed here for one night on two separate occasions. My room was fine (on the first floor of the main building), though I had a real tussle with the key every time I wanted to go in or out, and even had to ask staff for help with it.
The restaurant was good, and I had two enjoyable meals there.
The location is convenient, as you can walk along the river through Hagley Park to the beautiful Botanic Gardens and town centre (still horribly devastated, but a definite must-see).
I'd stay here again, particularly given the pressure on hotel accommodation in Christchurch.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review for us.

We really appreciate the great feedback our restaurant and glad that you enjoyed our food. I agree we are in a perfect location for all visiting Christchurch at this time. Close enough to all the new bars and restaurants opening and a short stroll to City Centre and botanic gardens.

I am sorry for the problems with your keys, we have addressed this issue.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We are just back from holiday in New Zealand which included 2 nights at the Pavilions Hotel. As other reviewers have said, the staff are very good, and provide excellent service. We met Graham and his wife as the were having breakfast at the next table - we had a good chat about Christchurch and the devastation of the earthquake which sadly will take many years yet to rebuild such a lovely city. Graham kindly gave us a signed copy of his book, which is a good read!
It was not the cheapest hotel we stayed in, ( reflects the lack of availabilty in the area ) nor the most luxorious but i would definitely recommend the hotel, and would stay again if we are lucky enough to visit New Zealand in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
I am really glad you enjoyed your stay here with us and 'noticed' our difference.

As you can see from other reviews the comments on our staff and excellent service is consistent and it is so pleasing to have the recognition from our customers who appreciate the hospitality.

I am sure my father will be very pleased to see your comment on his book - it certainly has helped his life and he does enjoy a chance to reminisce

Thank you for choosing us again if and when you do visit New Zealand again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here a few times, there's a few flaws that you get in renovated properties, nothing serious. Its the staff that make this place a pleasure to stay at, friendly, helpful and nothings a problem. Other properties could learn a lot from the Pavilions, famiy run with pride.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such positive feedback. Its great that you notice our staff and also how passionate our family is about our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next stay in Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay and from our experience can only highly recommend the Pavilions Hotel. The staff are fantastic with no request ever being a problem. Our room was on the ground floor and had most everything you could want, a small fridge, an iron and ironing board and a small kitchenette. It did lack a room safe but this was easily managed by lodging any valuables at the reception desk which was open 24hrs. We had an executive spa suite but needed to go to reception to ask for a 'bath bomb' to put in the spa as there was no bubble bath or similar in the room to use. There was no air conditioning or a fan which meant leaving the front door open to get some air circulation. This was a little off putting when cars were parked up close to your front door. The meals in Jimmy's Bar were excellent and at the end of a day touring around Christchurch, a cold beer and either the hot or cold platter were a perfect end of the day. Considering the amount of accommodation available 2 years after the devastating earthquake, we consider ourselves fortunate to have had a great place to stay and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. If we ever had the opportunity to visit New Zealand again we would choose to stay at the Pavilions Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prospector3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive feedback. Again our staff are always mentioned and we do pride ourselves on offering the best service we can in all cases. Its great that you enjoyed our restaurant and bar also. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
613 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Property: Pavilions Hotel
Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing