We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Greymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very impressed, stayed on Business and will stay again, next time for pleasure, beautiful warm comfortable rooms and spa bath was fantastic, Awesome food and all staff were very helpful and Friendly, Thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am glad you were so impressed with your stay and noticed our staff, fantastic food and our friendliness - as a team we strive to impress and have our clients walk away feeling just as you have. Thank you for your feedback and I am sure we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    188
    102
    34
    19
See reviews for
138
204
28
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Pavilions Hotel has become our chosen accommodation venue in Christchurch. The accommodation is brilliant, the food at their restaurant is very good and the service outstanding. Thank you, we will certainly be using your Hotel on a regular basis for all of our business travel in Christchurch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VMunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are very pleased to be your chosen accommodation venue in Christchurch. We do have a large corporate clientele and strive to meet the needs of the traveller that is often away from home. Its also fantastic you have noticed our outstanding service and amazing food. We will see you and your colleagues again on your next stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We were really impressed with the staff - both reception and restaurant - and the standard of service. Room was adequate and clean - all we needed for a one night stay on our way back to Australia after a NZ holiday. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It is great to see you were impressed with our staff, they make every effort for all customers to enjoy their experience with us. Love to see you back again to stay with us whenever you get the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Always enjoy staying here. With the Horncastle family and the fantastic team they have there it is very much like visiting family. The rooms have been made even more comfortable with new TV's, Heaters, Beds and other accessories. The staff there are always helpful and the bar and restaurant team always happy to engage in a chat if you want them to. The food both for breakfast and dinner was excellent I really enjoyed the new menu. We hired one of the conference rooms for a work presentation and it was equipped with everything and more that we needed plus the lunch the staff organised received great comments. See you soon guys.

Room Tip: When booking let the guys know exactly what you expect from a room and they will always do their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thorpee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor. Its great that you recognise just what we are trying to achieve with our customers - a warm family environment, so you feel like you are visiting home. Its also pleasing to see you notice the little things in the rooms, the staff attitude and of course our fantastic food. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Pavilions Hotel Christchurch is our preferred hotel to stay at, when we visit Christchurch, usually twice a year. We have stayed a total of 4 times now, and looking forward to returning back there in a couple of weeks time. The staff are warm and friendly, eager to help to ensure our stay is always one to remember. The food is outstanding. The receptionist Tara Toso, was extremely helpful, as was all the amazing staff there. The rooms are tastefully decorated and roomy. Well worth taking a look around the different types of rooms as they cater for all needs. The family room has a separate lounge area, kitchen and 2 bedrooms for a busy family. A fun place where your needs are their priority. Looking forward to another stay there shortly.

Room Tip: The family room is perfect, it's located downstairs and is spacious with it's own kitchen, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post comment. Many of our guests are returning guests and we like to take the time to make sure we are there to help each guests individual needs. Our food sure is fantastic and our rooms do vary greatly catering for one and up to six people. We do look forward to you staying with us again soon and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Tava.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Actually thought the rooms were tired and dated, especially the bathroom. Food was mediocre. Woman on reception not that friendly. I wouldn't want to stay here again. Guess the group of drunk sports mates didn't help either.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
We appreciate your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your room, perhaps if you did choose to stay again you may wish to book a Superior or Executive room which would suit you better - these rooms are larger, Executive rooms have spa baths and also kitchenettes.
You must of chosen a rare night as drunken sports teams are certainly not our normal clientele. Our bar and restaurant are more lounge style and almost always a quite and very comfortable atmosphere.
The reviews here on Trip Advisor constantly praise our great staff an unfriendly person on reception is difficult to understand.
Finally your comment on food being mediocre - its unfortunate you thought so if you were to read reviews here we are always praised for the food I am unsure of what you chose but it seems you are in the minority on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Having stayed in several motels & hotels in Christchurch Pavillions is my accommodation of choice. It is conveniently located in very pleasant surroundings with a restaurant that provides excellent food at reasonable prices.
Being family owned and managed it has a great atmosphere and the friendly staff go out of their way to assist. I have always found them all very polite and willing to help especially Niav with her smiling Irish eyes, humour and charming manner. I recommend Pavillions and look forward to my next stay.
Adrienne Tomkins

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atomkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for recognising our family owned and managed hotel - it is a point of difference as we are extremely passionate about our property, guests and staff. I am glad you also enjoy our food as we do strive for excellence in the kitchen and our chefs produce fantastic meals. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
Rydges Latimer Christchurch
#9 of 144 in Christchurch
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Property: Pavilions Hotel
Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing