We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, spacious, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Relaxed, spacious, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

Hotel is a single-level motel style setup and is a little bit out of the town. Walk to town took about 15 minutes.

Room was very spacious and comfortable as was the bathroom. Bedroom window opened directly onto car spot which meant curtains had to be completely closed for privacy from other patrons and hotel staff walking past. However despite this we didn't experience any privacy issues because of this.

Hotel fitness room was ok, the restaurant was pleasant if not a little disorganised. Reception staff were ok. Complex felt relaxed and extra services like free inroom movies (which unfortunately we didn't utilise) were an added bonus.

We enjoyed our stay at the Pavilions and would recommend it if you're happy to be on the outskirts of town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    183
    96
    33
    18
See reviews for
134
194
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

If you must stay there when it's cold plan on a room with access from an interior hallway. The 2 bedroom we stayed in had exterior access. The door offered no real barrier from the cold and all there really was as a visual barrier to the door and the cold was a "pull curtain". There was one small wall mounted heater in the lounge or main room area. The bedrooms never warmed up. We complained and received several space heaters. Those may have been adequate other than the fact that when plugged in and turned on they tripped the breaker. The next option was a upgraded heater, but it took several hours to heat up and never adequately heated up all the rooms. The manager on duty that night was dismissive of our complaints. We ended up checking out the next morning for a hotel right off Latimer square. If you are planning a summer stay then one could consider this location as our main issue was with the heat, but I would ensure you are getting a good price. Do not overpay if you do decide to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VIKINGS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

Service - Was ok. Staff were friendly but not overly interested.

Room - The room was ok, nothing special but for the price you can't expect too much. It did it's job of providing a place to sleep for the night.

Location - Great location if you have a car. About 5mins drive into the centre of the city. Really easy to get to and from.

Amenities - Free wireless internet and parking.

Liked:
Best - The location and price
Least - The dated furniture

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment and straight up they upgraded us to a larger room as we were a group of 4, so happy about that.
Located about a 10 - 15 walk into the city centre which wasn't an issue, we had a great walk in and also around the nearby park.
Carlton Hotel is just across the road and great for a beer and good meal.
We weren't made aware of the free pick up from the airport which would have been nice but apart from that have no complaints. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Friendly staff, good, clean, well maintained room. Good breakfast. Just what we needed for our first night in New Zealand. Decor a bit simple but then we wanted to see New Zealand not the inside of a hotel room so it didn't bother us. The first things I mentioned were much more important!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BicesterUKDuncanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

We had a very enjoyable stay, the room was warmed for our late evening arrival and very cozy. Handy to city center. We were not aware the All Blacks v Australia (Tri Nations) at time of booking. So the town was buzing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macbeth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

We were very happy with the hospitality of the family run Pavilions Hotel.My partner & I had so much fun with management & even had a karoke night after the rugby.The hotel is perfectly situated within walking distance to Resturants & Cathedrel Square.The room we had was very nice although the bathroom was a little small and we couldn't get over the fact that they had no exhaust fan in there nevertheless we enjoyed our stay of 5 nights.Plenty of parking and very comfortable. I have no problem recommending this hotel to my friends.Debbie & Ryan .... FANTASTIC & thankyou.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonewiththewind51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Property: Pavilions Hotel
Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing