We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2011

After an earthquake and a few post-tremors we were concerned about accomodation in Christchurch. The receptionist's advice having been asked what to do should another tremor occur was"it's hard to say, we never know whether it's best to go outside or remain in the room!" So that's clear then!  You have to feel for the people though, business is tough, the housing market must have fallen through the cracks created by the earthquakes and they live under the constant threat of more earth tremors. We both felt the compulsion to visit and spend some dollars to be of some help to the city. I have to be honest and say that the Hotel was no more than OK and the trusses placed to give extra support to the ceilings in the entrance way and on the first floor landing were obvious concerns. Well done people for making the most of your circumstances. Come on you travelers, do your bit and spend some dollars in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

884 - 890 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the Chateau on the Park over the Christmas long weekend and we weren't disappointed. The hotel doesn't seem to have been affected by the earthquakes apart from some support pillars erected on each floor's foyer area. The rooms were a great size with a very comfortable bed, crisp linen and fluffy towels. I would have preferred more TV channel choices and unfortunately our airconditioner wasn't effective. I agree with other reviewers that it has dated decor, especially in the corridors and restaurant. It also needs a good clean to get rid of the cobwebs on the exterior but I'm sure they've had other important things to worry about, ie earthquakes! The service from the staff was faultless and the buffet breakfast each morning was great. I would definitely recommend staying here, as it's well positioned and the gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed at the Chateau on the Park Hotel for business over a period of 6 months. With each visit, customer service was impeccable. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL with rose gardens all around.

Dining at the hotel was AMAZING. I recommend eating at the hotel for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Our team ate at almost every "open" restaurant in Christchurch with Free Shuttle Service provided by the hotel and eating at Chateau on the Park Hotel has to be my favorite of all the choices we had.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground level. Ground Level Rooms has doors right to the beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodiePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel is beautiful and very near the train station. (We took the free shuttle to the train station to get the Tranz-Alpine Train.) The neighborhood is very nice, but the only nice restaurant is the one in the hotel. That's not a problem as the hotel restaurant is excellent, albeit the service was slow. Food was excellent, many tables overlook their beautiful garden. Some reviewers thought the hotel was "dated", but I believe parts of it are being renovated. If you want to use this as a stopover between the Tranz-Scenic train down the east coast and the Tranz-Alpine Train over the the west coast, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Outside appearances of the Chateau on the Park were good- well presented, nice entrance, and the inside was well maintained, just a bit dated. Ordered room service which was fantastic, except for one mistake where the staff misunderstood me so I ended up with 2 meals. Advised reception and they were more than helpful to fix this up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgOnBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Part of Thomas Cook Tour - room 216 on the ground floor with a patio. Card and chocolates to celebrate our anniversary. Limited choice in Christchurch. Hotel could do with updating, decor date. lovely breakfast. amenities nearby within 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleekpeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

It is a shame that this hotel is very tired looking, I was disappointed to find hairs on bath and on toilet but having made one call, they sent a porter to clean the bathroom, he insisted it wasn't good and he would definately be raising this with the cleaning staff.
There was a very nice patio area outside, nice decor but tired.
Our room had all the usual facilities, I thought the bed would be uncomfortable but I had a great night sleep. Breakfast was excellent and the staff most helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,017 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
689 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing