We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel in the Garden city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice hotel in the Garden city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

a nice peacefull hotel at the edge of the central city, some Earthquake damage but still nicely presented.... Restuarant although not the flashest place in town has excellent beef steaks.
Comfortable English style bar. Helpfull staff throughout... Would book again

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8411399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    374
    230
    61
    25
See reviews for
140
460
52
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Spent one night here in Dec, the day a couple of dream 5.5 quakes rolled through. When we arrived, the staff were shaken, but still tbere and working. The building is quake safe, as proved that day and on the two previous quakes, and the hourly aftershocks through the night paled away as we slept well in our comfy bed. Nice place, great staff...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpectTooMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

In our 3 weeks of traveling around New Zealand and staying in 10 different lodgings, this was the only one that felt old, shabby, and way overpriced. The front desk staff was neither friendly nor helpful. The service in the restaurant was slow and inattentive. There really is no lobby for sitting, and we found the rooms dark. We ended up sitting in the hall salon for reading. We would not recommend Chateau on the Park and hope the other hotels in Christchurch city centre are able to re-start soon.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckyhari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

After an earthquake and a few post-tremors we were concerned about accomodation in Christchurch. The receptionist's advice having been asked what to do should another tremor occur was"it's hard to say, we never know whether it's best to go outside or remain in the room!" So that's clear then!  You have to feel for the people though, business is tough, the housing market must have fallen through the cracks created by the earthquakes and they live under the constant threat of more earth tremors. We both felt the compulsion to visit and spend some dollars to be of some help to the city. I have to be honest and say that the Hotel was no more than OK and the trusses placed to give extra support to the ceilings in the entrance way and on the first floor landing were obvious concerns. Well done people for making the most of your circumstances. Come on you travelers, do your bit and spend some dollars in Christchurch.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed at the Chateau on the Park over the Christmas long weekend and we weren't disappointed. The hotel doesn't seem to have been affected by the earthquakes apart from some support pillars erected on each floor's foyer area. The rooms were a great size with a very comfortable bed, crisp linen and fluffy towels. I would have preferred more TV channel choices and unfortunately our airconditioner wasn't effective. I agree with other reviewers that it has dated decor, especially in the corridors and restaurant. It also needs a good clean to get rid of the cobwebs on the exterior but I'm sure they've had other important things to worry about, ie earthquakes! The service from the staff was faultless and the buffet breakfast each morning was great. I would definitely recommend staying here, as it's well positioned and the gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed at the Chateau on the Park Hotel for business over a period of 6 months. With each visit, customer service was impeccable. The grounds are BEAUTIFUL with rose gardens all around.

Dining at the hotel was AMAZING. I recommend eating at the hotel for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Our team ate at almost every "open" restaurant in Christchurch with Free Shuttle Service provided by the hotel and eating at Chateau on the Park Hotel has to be my favorite of all the choices we had.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground level. Ground Level Rooms has doors right to the beautiful gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodiePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban Boston, MA
Level Contributor
241 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

The hotel is beautiful and very near the train station. (We took the free shuttle to the train station to get the Tranz-Alpine Train.) The neighborhood is very nice, but the only nice restaurant is the one in the hotel. That's not a problem as the hotel restaurant is excellent, albeit the service was slow. Food was excellent, many tables overlook their beautiful garden. Some reviewers thought the hotel was "dated", but I believe parts of it are being renovated. If you want to use this as a stopover between the Tranz-Scenic train down the east coast and the Tranz-Alpine Train over the the west coast, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready2Go2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing