We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We found this hotel very comfortable although the room was very dark as there were a lot of tall trees outside. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast was really excellent. It was very convenient to get the hotel shuttle to the railway station for the TranzAlpine trip, though the next day we had to get a taxi as our train to Kaikoura was too early for the shuttle.
We can recommend the situation - it is within walking distance of Riccarton Road shops, Hagley Park, the Botanic Gardens and a longish walk to the centre of Cambridge. Also a longish walk to Deans Reserve which is of great interest.
We ate on 2 evenings at Argee Bargee's, a really good Indian restaurant, Lovely service and good food.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Had booked to stay in Rydges Christchurch but the quake put paid to that. Had seen good reviews of the Chateau and so booked two nights 3-5 Feb 2012.Not disappointed as we got a ground floor room and there were no tremors when we were there. It is near Hagley Park and there are plenty of shops/pubs nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalfont55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Just stayed the one night having arrived in Christchurch and needing a hotel before catching the Trans Alpine train. The Chateau, like much of Christchurch, is still in a state of recovery from the earthquake. It is ideally situated for a stroll across Hagley Park to the city centre, but so sad to still see the devastation there. The hotel room was in need of a revamp, but was perfectly clean and everything worked. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we found that transport to the Trans Alpine was complimentary which was great for our first day in NZ. Can't comment on food as ate breakfast on the train.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very nice hotel, very helpful staff, my kindle needed re-charging, and they did it for me at reception. It suffered some damage in the earthquake, and is in the process of being repaired. Very good breakfast and dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We spent 4 nights here prior to flying back to the UK and what a good choice it turned out to be. We knew nothing about the hotel and rather pulled it out of the hat, particularly as most of the city hotels are shut. Yes, the large guest rooms are fairly plain and simple and do need a style makeover but they function well and the bed was very comfortable.

The big plus for this hotel was the quality of the food, so much so that we chose to eat here exclusively. Everything was cooked just right and because of this we could forgive the slow wait for the meal to arrive. It was always worth it. Steaks were correctly cooked, the smoked salmon was delicious and the fish was tender and not overcooked. It was a very popular venue for locals and deservedly so.

All staff were friendly and helpful, in the restaurant and at the front office. We would stay here again without hesitation. Hope the quake renovations happening this month go well.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Langalenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Rooms are very comfortable but the decor and the furniture is very 70s. Having said that, we had a very pleasant stay here. Staff are friendly and helpful, though checkout was v.e.r.y. slow. Everything you need is in the bedrooms which are treasonable sized – and there’s free wifi!!!!. The bistro is reasonably priced and the menu range is fine. There is still evidence of the three quakes with support struts visible in some of the public areas and some areas cordoned off. All in all a pleasant, if expensive place to stay in Christchurch – very much like a British hotel in the 70s and 80s.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ardfernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This hotel chose us really, as it was one of the few hotels still open after the devastation in Christchurch caused by earthquakes. It was our first stop on our tour of New Zealand and we were reasonably impressed. The hotel is set in 5 acres of garden which makes the hotel feel very tranquil. Our room was a deluxe room and was quite large with a 5’6” wide bed, 2 armchairs, desk & chair, small TV, tea-making facilities, proper fridge, iron, ironing board, wardrobe and drawers. The TV was dated but it worked and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was larger than normal with a bath AND a walk-in shower. The decor is a little dated but both the room and the bathroom were very clean and the hotel offers free wifi in the rooms. The reception staff were all very pleasant and helpful but one of the breakfast waitresses seemed inattentive and in a world of her own.

The hotel is located on the edge of Hagley Park and the Riccarton area. The hotel has a shuttle bus that will take you into the centre of town but as it is not possible to visit the shops in the centre of Christchurch at the moment, walk down Riccarton Road for a little way and you will find a big shopping mall. There is also Riccarton Bush to visit which is an area of native forest containing several 500 year old kahikatea trees.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alrumatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
705 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £88 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing