We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
US$185
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$176
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$281
US$226
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
US$167
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$106
US$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
375
483
263
73
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
483
263
73
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagley parkdouble treecity centrebotanical gardensnew zealandlovely hotelbeautiful parkduty managerhotel restaurantreception areavery pleasant stayroom was spaciousfree shuttlethe ground floorstayed here for one nightsouth islandearthquake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We use this hotel for business trips for all our staff. It has a 70's feel but they are doing it up slowly after the earthquakes. It is nice and quiet ( the quietest in CHCH) so you'll get a good sleep.;]
The gardens are well established and you can sit amongst the roses for breakfast or lunch in the warmer months. All the staff are friendly and welcoming,and for the price you pay its good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel, damaged by the earthquake, is open for business but rather overpriced at their roadside advertised price of NZ $ 230 a night double.It is old fashioned and only the bathroom appears to have been refurbished. The buffet breakfast offered cheap cereals but there was a good selection of stewed fruits.Breads were largely of the budget variety, unimaginative.
I asked for the $16 breakfast but was informed abruptly that I had to accept the dearer "buffet" selection that was part of my room package. I couldn't figure that one out.
No complaints of the reception staff, cheerful and courteous.
I agree with the other comments made here.Perhaps a total revamp is on the books once the hotel is fully functioning.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor, you may get above the unattractive hotel roofs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2kiwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We first stayed here 3 yrs ago after a late arrival, as they had 24 hour desk service (staffed by very helpful people) and a spa (that didnt work). Last week we stayed again and found the same situation. Obviously a bit more run-down since the earthquake, but thats fine if we can just support the town a little bit by staying there.
Everything else was OK but nothing too special. Our young son was really looking forward to a buffet breakfast and was happy with his 'morning feast'. There was one staff lady who had the grumps and didnt like it when we mentioned that the fruit toast caught alight in the toaster. She told us that we shouldnt really be putting the fruit toast in there as it had a tendency to do that! No sign or anything to indicate this though. A bit disappointed with the lack of friendly service from one staff member, but overall - OK for one night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SimonW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This hotel is one of the few hotels which did not got much effected by the earthquake. Although the hotel is getting cosmetic repairs but still I personally didnt found the location of the hotel appealing as had to take the taxi for even small distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yamanagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just stayed for the last two nights and was taken aback by the mechanical props holding up the roof in the corridors and just how tired the hotel is looking. But with all the earthquake damage to the city of Christchurch accommodation is hard to find. The location is close enough to the city, there are some ok restaurants within 5 minutes walk away and the hotel was clean with the staff attentive.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank Melb_Craig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews