We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 star not a 4 star with no continuity. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“3 star not a 4 star with no continuity. ”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

1st night thought ok looking a bit tired and shabby. Staying wih mum on a tour. Beds ok only 1 dressing gown. On our return a week later put in a room just painted the fumes were terrible! ! Had to be moved. Glad as noticed hair in bath yuk. Moved to new room I had to sleep on a single bed that was ancient only 1 pillow this room no dressing gowns. At this point the staff were lovely. Definitely not of 4 star standard hotel the tv was older than me. Then to finish it off we were given complimentary breakfast vouchers. On arrival at breakfast 05.45! As we had an early start we were told it was a mistake as the coach had arrived early and reception had made a mistake and they would not honour so went to reception where I was rudely told well its your fault for arriving early! Your not getting breakfast so ths thats. The group were all elderly and I think this is terrible service. Dont really want to trapse around an unfamiliar area at 6am. And I could not afford 20 dollar for some milk and a croissant as that was all I wanted! !! Guess they thought I would devour the whole buffet! !!! Not impressed worst service and hotel since arriving in new zealand. Dont stay here you will be disappointed. There are plenty of motels about use those.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank katsam295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    382
    232
    63
    25
See reviews for
141
470
52
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I had 5 days there in October 2013 which included a 3-day Conference. The 2010 and 2011 earthquakes affected Christchurch badly and they need all they help they can to get back on their feet. This Hotel was obviously affected and is not fully operational but what has been restored is really good. The evening meals in the dining room are superb. Staff are all friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisArmSinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We only stayed in the hotel for 1 night. From the outside it looks nice, decent size car park as well but not brilliantly signed and you can be forgiven for driving past it.

Check in ok but staff seemed a bit preoccupied. Hotel itself is under going some work after the earthquake which obviously can't be helped. The room was just ok, very old and dated. In bad need of a lick of paint as gaps could be seen and it was coming off in places. Bathroom was a decent size, 4 piece but again very old, 1908's, and the shower wasn't the most powerful.

The hotel is in a good location and within walking distance to the main areas.

Free unlimited wifi is excellent though, good speed. Overall a good hotel location, staff could be friendlier and rooms is a desperate need of upgrading.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Chateau needs a face lift. The upgrade seems to be happening now, with evidence of builders on site.
The rooms are spacious but old fashioned, clean but a bit shabby - the carpets need replacing and the rooms could be updated with fresh paint and fittings.
The service was OK - one more staff member at check out time would be an excellent investment to get guests out the door quicker - I was in the queue behind a couple with a credit card problem and it took everyone's attention, while the rest of us waited.
The room service and in room breakfast menu was quite limited and old fashioned but arrived promptly and was exactly what was ordered. The curry I had for dinner was tasty. All up, it was just OK.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I have just moved into Christchurch from Australia and until we could live in our new home, in the transition phase we had to stay at the hotel.
The hotel facility is enough to accommodate people who just need a place to stay in this beautiful city.
It is located in a strategic area close to busy complex in Riccarton street where we can find anything you need; food, shopping mall, supermarket, station, catch public transport or just to have a very nice walk at Hagley Park which is very close from the hotel.
The room we stayed in has always been spotless, tidy and provided by clean bathroom needs; ie. towel, facial and hand towel also mat.
The refreshment as part of room facility has been satisfying. It has restaurant who serve nourishing meals with variety options which I noticed people who is enjoyed also by the locals and not only customer of the hotel.
In overall service and maintenance it has been a pleasant staying.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ogswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Recognising that the 2011 earthquake has had a huge impact on the hospitality industry in Christchurch you would think this hotel would be doing more to ensure travellers had a great stay so they recommend it to others. Sadly the earthquake seems to have become an excuse for poor service and mediocre attention to detail. Unhelpful front desk staff more interested in talking to each other than dealing with those checking in and a doorman who just stood and watched as two fellow female travellers struggled with their suitcases. My room was small with dated and tired decor and the bathroom definitely needs some basic TLC.

Checkout was just as friendly as check-in - not. If you can stay elsewhere do.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed two separate nights while transiting through Christchurch. The hotel we heard is being reconstructed from the earthquake damage. Found the rooms old and quite small. Lot of greenery in the campus itself. Breakfast is decent and finding people to help with luggage is difficult. Rooms very noisy from the corridor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abhsan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing