We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed here 1 night while on business. The location is not really close walking distance to anywhere. You need a car. The hotel is very spacious and quiet. The grounds are really beautiful. The pool area is stunning. The view from the restaurant is very restful. The restaurant was convenient and had a nice atmosphere. Waiting staff were a bit slow off the mark.
My room was roomy and comfortable. I love the hotel cat Gary. What a lovely idea to have a hotel cat. Just like home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    383
    232
    63
    25
See reviews for
141
472
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Chateau on the Park is a lovely centrally located hotel in Christchurch, just outside of the CBD. It is located in a quiet neighborhood within 10 minutes walk from commercial districts and tne CBD. The room was cleanand well appointed with the basics, plus refrigerator and kettle with a tea and coffee selection. While the hotel experienced eathquake damage and was u dergoing substantial repairs in December 2013, there was nothing about it that affected our stay. During this time much of the CBD was rebuilding fro extensive damage. We spent most of our time exploring the contryside around Christchurch, and we highly recommend making the drive to Akaroa for a harbor wildlife cruise to see the dolphins and penguins. The South Island is magical.

Room Tip: Hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, and all rooms seem to be quiet. A courtyard room may be more isol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level Contributor
154 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a lengthy holiday in New Zealand and found it a great place to stay. The hotel is set in wonderful grounds so pretty quiet and our room had a great view of the gardens.

The good bits:-

The staff were invariably friendly, cheerful and always willing to help.

The room (well ours anyway) was clean, tidy and well provisioned.

The restaurant in the hotel offered superb food at not unreasonable prices.

The bad bits:-

None that we found (apart from having to leave to come home)

And the best bit of all:-

The whole place is run by Gary the Cat - so we were reliably informed and he certainly appeared to be in charge as he sat under a heater on the reception desk wth all the staff and guests pandering to him!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has charming gardens and nice, clean rooms. It is across the street from the Botanical gardens, through which you can walk across into downtown Christchurch.

The hotel, like most of the city, sustained damage from the 2011 earthquake and is partially under repair.

It's a good 25-30 minute walk into central Christchurch. You get to pass the beautiful Avon River.

Did a wine tour of the region today.

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the city and its environs.

Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navidad_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We arrived hungry about 7.30pm and were very pleased to find that the hotel has a lovely dining room with a view of its beautiful flower garden. No muzak which is always a plus. Lovely food, friendly and helpful waitresses. Rooms were great, free wifi in rooms.

Part of the hotel was closed off, we were told due to earthquake damage, but this does not affect the bedrooms, dining room or bar/lounge at all.

We were only there the one night as we were en route via the Tranzalpine Train but would have been very glad to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

There was food spillage in the fridge and if this wasnt bad enough there were poo stains...quite bad ones in the toilet.filled out the survey for putting down my phone number for contact,not surprisingly no contact.i wont be back and wouldnt recommend.un hygienic very disappointing,bet these are never even read.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here on business for three weeks in November and would highly recommend it.

As other reviews have mentioned, the hotel is being redeveloped at the moment but the disruption is minimal and they are making great progress.

All the staff are very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to help with any query.

The food in the restaurant is of a high quality and rooms are spacious.

It's in a great location and breakfast is of a high standard.

The only downside and this is more of a general infrastructure problem for Christchurch is the wifi speed.

I'm planning a return in February and already looking forward to it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
636 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,735 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing