We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and theme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Located just opposite Hagley Park, the hotel lives up to its name. We loved that the hotel was set amidst gardens. The setting was really beautiful! The room itself was quite spacious and very clean. They had a nice breakfast spread too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank vrk26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

801 - 807 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

An average place for anyone to stay.Far away from shopping area.Only the staff there are good.Rooms not very encouraging & very far away from reception.Maybe because they are still recovering from the 2011,feb problem.

Room Tip: None to say now.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shibutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed one night. Greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist. Rooms were comfortable and of a good size. Beds are really comfortable, slept very well. Bathrooms are ok with a good supply of toiletries. We didn't eat in the restaurant but did want to have a drink in the bar but was surprised it was shut at 9pm. The breakfast was good and there was a very good choice of food available. I am sure the Chateau is going to be fantastic once the final restoration work has been completed. Loved its location and thoroughly enjoyed walking through the park to the town centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 925KitC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas. We had a room overlooking a car park which was a bit disappointing Room had two double beds, very clean. We had breakfast each morning in the Bistro, had dinner in the Bistro also. It was fine, nothing special. We had dinner in the bar one evening, you can order from the restaurant menu which is good. Staff very nice, very friendly. We decided to have lunch in the bistro one afternoon to find it was packed with a xmas lunch party, nice waitress said we could sit outside in the lovely gardens. We were a bit skeptical about how long it would take to get lunch but service was excellent and quick. Lunch was very good. Kids had a dip in the pool and a staff member brought us some towels without asking. Considering the shortage of accomodation after the earthquakes, The Chateau is a nice place to stay, a bit overpriced we thought but we would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ennis41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel on two different nights over two weeks. First night was a room near the rear on the bottom level and second night was room 238, which apparently was an "upgrade" but I dont see how although the balcony was nice.

On arrival (both times), there isnt a baggage trolley in sight so you have to get your own bags to reception and then to your rooms. No offer to help with luggage to our rooms and no offer to provide a trolley.

On our second visit I asked where the trolleys were located, was told "we can get you one". No dammit, just have them available at the front. People paying these daily rates shouldn’t have to haul their bags in and through a lobby to get to you before asking if they can have one. Later we found trolleys hidden near the elevator at the rear entrance.

On departure, while watching my husband push the luggage trolley (that we located ourselves) there was no offer of help from two staff members that walked passed us and wished us good morning.

Both times Im left disappointed by the outdated rooms. Old 80's formica salmon beige bathrooms and fixtures, noisy empty mini fridges which the compressors kick in every 20mins to the point I had to unplug the first at 3am and unplugged the second an hour after checkin and the first room had a clunky old style TV that hasn’t been made in about a decade. Our first room at least had a king size bed but the second room had only a queen and basically they have a motel style about them. Old. Outdated. Unstylish.

Another hint for the hotel, if you read these reviews. Puts a bench outside so those waiting for taxis can sit and relax instead of standing in the doorway, getting in the way of others for up to 10 minutes.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was OK but what you expect for a buffet. Just OK but the restaurant staff were lovely.

Overall I really expected (and hoped for) better. I didnt even want to return for the second night and was prepared to book another hotel at extra cost but hubby said it was paid for so lets go to it.

I won’t be returning to this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Denali68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The location on the park was perfect as it was a short walk of about 15 minutes to downtown which takes you across the park. The Museum, the Botanic Gardens and Punting on the Avon were all located close together and easy to find as we were on foot. The hotel was still under quake reconstruction but with minimal inconvenience. The staff was friendly and accommodating as we had asked for 2 beds, the room was made a 1 king, they promptly responded to splitting our beds. The rooms were big, nice sitting area, balcony, refrigerator, large bathrooms. The beds were very comfy with nice linens. Both evenings we ate dinner in the bar and enjoyed our food. The location is quiet. This not your regular motel with a parking lot at your door. The grounds were covered with blooming gardens of roses. The hotel arranged a free shuttle for the Pacific coastal train.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy2645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Wow... It was an experience which will remain logged in our memories forever. This quaint looking place with its lush green settings was a good break from the regular hotels. It was quite, clean and well maintained (even though the earthquake had a huge impact on the area) ...the staff at the reception was friendly and extended help in every way that they could. The gardens of the hotel and other green areas are worth a mention and walk around especially during summer months. A relaxed comfortable stay ...

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony... As I believe alternate rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmsKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Pavilions Hotel
Pavilions Hotel
#14 of 146 in Christchurch
705 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: £88 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing