We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downmarket and Grubby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Downmarket and Grubby”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

They say you can judge a good hotel by the number of buckets that they deploy to catch the rain leaking thorough the roof whenever it rains. On that basis this must be 5 star hotel. On our arrival it was raining hard and had been for most of the day. We were glad to get inside in the dry having driven for 5 hours. We were met by buckets and towels on the floor everywhere. Now I know that Christchurch was ubject to 2 large earthquakes but that was 2 years ago so there really is no excuse for having so many leaks. One room, adjacent to the bar, smelt musty and no one used it. The bar had several buckets on the floor and I noticed that the front panel (wood) of the bar was rotting and that the carpet was mouldy. There were buckets on the floor in the restaurant and we noticed that one was very close to a table laid for two people. Just before the table was used the buckets disappeared!!!

During the evening the bar resembled a waiting room in the local probation office and it was not a nice place to be.

The food in the restaurant was okay but the service left a little to be desired.

The corridors and stairs needed a good clean and we kept our eye on one piece of litter on the stairs to see if it was removed during our stay. To our surprise it was taken away after 2 days!

The electrical equipment in the rooms should have been subject to annual inspection and had labels on indicating when this was last done; they were 6 months overdue.

This was the last hotel we stayed at during our delightful 4 week tour of NZ and we were glad to leave. It was certainly the worst place we stayed at during our trip and we would not be in any hurry to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevinsteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Unfortunately, your stay with us coinsided with our roof repairs and regrettably they were not complete through no fault of the hotel's when we experienced heavy rain. However I am delighted to announce that we have now completed those repairs.
Our bar is very popular with locals and hotel guests and I am sorry that you felt that the other guests did not meet your standards.
I am incredibly disappointed to hear your feedback regarding our cleaning levels and I can assure this is certainly not our usual standard. Both our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager have been advised of your comments are our currently addressed these issues with their teams.
Kind regards

Dorothy Pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    388
    234
    64
    25
See reviews for
145
480
53
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms are outdated but spacious, however the bed linen is absolutely impossible, it scratches and is not hygienic (you can not avoid touching the duvet). The reception girl was very resourceful and friendly, and the location is good to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajeraferoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We have recently finished our earthquake repairs and we are now in the process of refreshing our rooms.
We hire in all of our bed linen and I am surprised to find that was scratchy but I will pass on your comments to our supplier.
Thank you again for your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed our location.

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On first appearances this hotel seemed to have been recently refurbished as the the reception area is airy and new looking. However, this was misleading. Our room was on the small side and rather tired. More worrying was the fact that a power socket was coming away from the wall and a permanent notice announcing that we had to keep the bathroom door closed as steam sets off the fire alarm! All the electrical items in the room were overdue for testing too.
When it rained buckets appeared in all the public areas (reception, bar, restaurant)! The bar is dark and quite frankly some of the furniture was grubby.
Breakfast was not of the quality we had elsewhere in New Zealand (at comparable cost).
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good quality and value for money.
There is free wifi (albeit slow) and free parking. There is also a hotel cat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review and bringing to our attention the outdated electrical item. We do have a scheduled timetable for testing all electrical items in the rooms but due to human error this room must have been missed.
We have just completed our earthquake repairs which included a complete rebuild of our reception area and we are currently refreshing all of our accommodation rooms.
Thank you again for your feedback.

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spend our last night in New Zealand in this hotel, it is very well situated. Close to Riccarton Road (for eating, shopping etc.) and also close to Hagley Park. Enough parking space for our rental car. The hotel is really big and we had a room at the back side of the entrance, facing the gardens. It was really quiet and relaxed. I think this is different for rooms at the entrance side, the road is quiet busy.
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was good (regarding firmness) and the bathroom a bit dated but clean as well. We did not have breakfast as it was quite expensive, we went to a place on Riccarton Road instead.
At 8.30 we were woken by the room-lady entering the room to clean up. That was a bit strange, we could check out up to 10.30. So make sure to light the 'do not disturb' sign before you go to bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, this is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chateau on the Park. We appreciate your positive comments about our gardens and the quiet room. We are set on 5 acres of landscaped gardens which ensures plenty of quiet spaces to relax.
I would like to apologise for our over eager room attendant.
Thank you again for your feedback.

kind regards

Dorothy Pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Pleasant location on edge of main city park but at least 20-30 mins walk to the edge of city centre, museum & botanical gardens - through the golf course or around the park perimter. City parking is not easy or cheap so taxis may be required. The start of Riccarton Road (a long road with wide choice of restaurants etc) is about 200 yards away. There's a free shuttle bus to the railway station and the airport shuttle costs $19 for the 1st person but less for others. We caught the local bus to the airport after returning our hire car at cost of $8 per person.

The hotel is large and has several restaurants and a bar at reasonable prices and breakfast was good. The small pool and laundry were bonuses. We saw several rooms and they all seemed a good size but with different furniture arrangements but little storage space and our room rather oddly had the larger of the 2 double beds pushed up against a wall! The 01/09 suites back on to a busy road and the sound-proofing against traffic noise was not great, so garden facing rooms are probably quieter.

Room Tip: Garden rooms may be quieter. Suites 01/09 are close to car park and a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We are very lucky to have such a fabulous location next to Hagley Park and close to the shopping and dining area of Riccarton Road.
The walk to the city through the park is lovely but we also have a complimentary shuttle that goes into town on a scheduled timetable.
Thank you again for your feedback

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Set in beautiful gardens with (for us) a pleasant 25 minute walk through Hagley Park to City centre, We were not allocated booked balcony room but it was changed when I asked helpful reception staff. Room 238 quite drab with balcony overlooking beautiful gardens. Breakfast was mixed. My wifes French toast was excellent but the hot buffet was poor quality and not hot. I asked for two fried eggs which eventually came on a plate one slapped on top of the the other, rock hard and swimming in browned oil - someone just did not care. I complained and whilst the waitress said she would only charge for a continental ( a juice and a coffee) no-one actually said sorry. We came back in the evening to find our room not cleaned. Housekeeping had gone home so nothing could be done. The duty manager came to the room with a porter who would make our bed for us. We can make our own bed but frankly what you need is the bathroom cleaned and the tea & coffee stuff replaced which wasn't on offer. She brought a free bottle of wine and some chocolate and a free breakfast, which was generous but not really what we wanted. We didn't feel like trying breakfast again - oh and there were no glasses to drink the wine from! Free in room wifi a bonus.
Overall a poor experience. A shame.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the gardens have a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here for 1 night before heading off for 2 weeks in campervan. We had been looking for one last little bit of luxury. Whilst a very plesant hotel it isnt luxury and for the extra paid to stay here it wasnt really worth it. Was clean and very peaceful and breakfast was really good. Would stay again if I could get a deal otherwise probably go closer to town centre.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#13 of 144 in Christchurch
1,796 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 144 in Christchurch
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing